12th Festival 2002

Main programme

Samstag 16. Nov. // 22.00 – 23.15 Uhr
Sonntag 17. Nov. // 22.00 – 23.15 Uhr
Flossplatz 3


Victoria, Gent

»Club Astrid«

Ein Bewegungs-Theater-Stück

Konzept, Text und Inszenierung:

Lies Pauwels


Johan Pycke


Kwinten Lavigne


Stefaan Deldaele


Ben Benaouisse, Sylvie Buytaert, Frederik Debrock, Anna Geering, Diederik Peeters, Gert Portael, Helmut Van Den Meersschaut, Johanna Pycke

Eight youths in a club. It's not an exclusive club for which you need a membership card. Everyone can come and go as he pleases. And it pleases everyone. The young people drink together or harass each other, flirt or want to recreate the world before they get bored to death and feel lonelier in the community than they've ever felt before.

The carefree manner of a young generation vehemently clears a path and strolls along in colorful theatrics, dance, music, motion and text in different languages. This piece doesn't fit into any one drawer, but instead needs a whole chest for itself. A barrage of energy and cheerfulness, and nevertheless moments of seriousness and sadness flicker in through the crack in the door of the club.

Lies Pauwels – Victoria – Gent – Les Ballets C. de la B – Alain Platel. That's a big »family« in this beautiful city of Flanders, a 25-minute train ride from Brussels, from which the euro-scene Leipzig has continued to invite productions for several years. Lies Pauwels had big roles herself in Alain Platel's »Bernadetje« (1997) and »Allemaal Indiaan« (2000) – both productions from the youth theater and »talent scout« Victoria, as well – before she created her own first production with »Club Astrid.« Also, the actors have played in various pieces with Victoria or Les Ballets C. de la B – thus a reunion of sorts with this fresh, original example of aesthetics from Gent that transcends all genre borders.

Uraufführung: 07.03.2001, Gent

Internetseiten der Compagnie: www.victoria.be

Produktion: Victoria/Gent

Koproduktion: De Brakke Grond/Amsterdam

Victoria wird unterstützt durch Ministerie van de Vlaamse Gemeenschap/Flämische Regierung, Brüssel.