29th Festival 2019

Main programme

Friday, 08. November 2019 // 7.30 – 8.45 p.m.

From 14 years

Schauspielhaus / Big stage

€ 28,00 / 24,00 / 18,00
(red. € 24,00 / 19,00 / 13,00)


Cristiana Morganti,
Rome

Italy


»Jessica and me« VIDEO CLIP  



Concept and choreography: Cristiana Morganti

Artistic collaboration: Gloria Paris

Music collage: Bernd Kirchhoefer

Video: Connie Prantera

Light design: Laurant P. Berger

Actor and dancer: Cristiana Morganti

In German language without translation (a few texts in English language)

The performance will be followed by a public discussion with Cristiana Morganti.
   Moderation: Dr. Martina Bako, Theatre scientist, Leipzig



The stage is dark. You can hardly recognize that a female body is moving here. »Would you like me to talk, or would you like me to dance?« A woman in a white dress and red stilettos introduces a touch of glamour in the space – it is Cristiana Morganti. The Italian woman danced for more than 20 years at the Wuppertaler Tanztheater with Pina Bausch and created numerous roles in the legendary choreographer’s pieces.

»Jessica and me« is a self-portrait that beautifully demonstrates how Cristiana Morganti – after the shock of Pina Bausch’s death in 2009 – has found her own dance and choreographic authenticity. Morganti offers insights into her life and becoming; she reflects on the art of dance as well as her existence as a dancer. Humorous and with plenty of tempo, she tells of her momentous meeting with the dancetheater-icon Pina Busch and also touches on poetic and melancholic subjects of age and transience.

Cristiana Morganti was born in Rome in 1967. She studied classical dance at the Accademia Nazionale di Danza in Rome and modern dance at the Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. In Germany, she worked with Susanne Linke, Urs Dietrich, Joachim Schlömer, Felix Ruckert, VA Wölfl and Wanda Golonka. From 1993-2014, she was a dancer in Wuppertal with the company from Pina Bausch; she continues to be invited there as a guest artist. She created her first solo, »Moving with Pina«, in 2010. »Jessica and me« (2014) has had guest performances in more than 30 cities in Italy, France, Ireland, Sweden, Great Britain and Germany. In 2016, the duo »A fury tale« followed.


World première: 04.04.2014, il Funaro Centro Culturale, Pistoia

Contact: www.ilfunaro.org

Production: il Funaro Centro Culturale, Pistoia

Co-production: Festival Aperto / Fondazione I Teatri, Reggio Emilia

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Istituto Italiano di Cultura (Italian Cultural Institute), Berlin.

29. Festival 2019

Hauptprogramm

Freitag, 08. November 2019 // 19.30 – 20.45 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

28,00 / 24,00 / 18,00 €
(erm. 24,00 / 19,00 / 13,00 €)


Cristiana Morganti,
Rom

Italien


»Jessica and me«
(»Jessica und ich«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  



Konzeption und Choreografie: Cristiana Morganti

Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Gloria Paris

Musikcollage: Bernd Kirchhoefer

Video: Connie Prantera

Lichtdesign: Laurant P. Berger

Darstellerin und Tänzerin: Cristiana Morganti

In deutscher Sprache (wenige Texte in englischer Sprache / deutsche Übersetzung im Abendprogramm)

Im Anschluss an die Vorstellung findet ein Publikumsgespräch mit Cristiana Morganti statt.
   Moderation: Dr. Martina Bako, Theaterwissenschaftlerin, Leipzig



Die Bühne ist dunkel. Kaum kann man erkennen, dass sich hier ein Frauenkörper bewegt. »Möchten Sie, dass ich spreche, oder möchten Sie, dass ich tanze?« Eine Frau im weißen Kleid und roten Stilettos lässt einen Hauch von Glamour durch den Raum wehen – es ist Cristiana Morganti. Die Italienerin hat mehr als 20 Jahre lang im Wuppertaler Tanztheater bei Pina Bausch getanzt und kreierte zahlreiche Rollen in den Stücken der legendären Choreografin.

»Jessica and me« (»Jessica und ich«) ist ein Selbstportrait, das aufs Schönste belegt, dass Cristiana Morganti – nach dem Schock über den Tod von Pina Bausch 2009 – nun ihre eigene tänzerische und choreografische Authentizität gefunden hat. Morganti gibt Einblicke in ihr Leben und Werden, sie reflektiert die Kunst des Tanzes ebenso wie das Dasein als Tänzerin. Humorvoll und temporeich erzählt sie von ihrem folgenreichen Treffen mit der Tanztheater-Ikone Pina Bausch und berührt auch poetisch-melancholisch Themen von Alter und Vergänglichkeit.

Cristiana Morganti wurde 1967 in Rom geboren. Sie studierte klassischen Tanz an der Accademia Nazionale di Danza in Rom und Modernen Tanz an der Folkwang Hochschule in Essen. In Deutschland arbeitete sie mit Susanne Linke, Urs Dietrich, Joachim Schlömer, Felix Ruckert, VA Wölfl und Wanda Golonka zusammen. Von 1993-2014 war sie Tänzerin im Ensemble von Pina Bausch in Wuppertal, wohin sie bis heute als Gastkünstlerin eingeladen wird. Mit »Moving with Pina« (»In Bewegung mit Pina«) schuf sie 2010 ihr erstes eigenes Solo. »Jessica and me« (2014) gastierte in mehr als 30 Städten in Italien, Frankreich, Irland, Schweden, Großbritannien und Deutschland. 2016 folgte das Duett »A fury tale« (»Ein Wutmärchen«).


Uraufführung: 04.04.2014, il Funaro Centro Culturale, Pistoia

Kontakt: www.ilfunaro.org

Produktion: il Funaro Centro Culturale, Pistoia

Koproduktion: Festival Aperto / Fondazione I Teatri, Reggio Emilia

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Istituto Italiano di Cultura (Italienisches Kulturinstitut), Berlin.