29th Festival 2019

Main programme

Wednesday, 06. November 2019 // 10.00 – 11.00 p.m.

From 14 years

Thursday, 07. November 2019 // 10.00 – 11.00 p.m.

Schaubühne Lindenfels

€ 22,00 €
(red. € 17,00 €)


Jan Martens & Marc Vanrunxt,
Antwerp

Belgium


»lostmovements« VIDEO CLIP  

German première


Concept and choreography: Marc Vanrunxt, Jan Martens
Music collage: Els Mondelaers
Scenery: Katleen Vinck
Costumes: Rick Owens
Light design: Stef Alleweireldt
Dancer: Jan Martens

A few texts in English (light language skills would be an advantage)



The new dance solo by and with Jan Martens is based on two very different signatures: his own and the choreographer Marc Vanrunxt’s, with whom he developed the piece. Jan Martens brings elements of emotional elegance to the certain fragility in Marc Vanrunxt’s aesthetics. In a broad palette, despair alternates with joy, expressivity with silence.

The piece looks like a big self-portrait, but still exudes a secret: The respect and thanks to known choreographers and other artists create a general universality. The music is also varied and ranges from Pet Shop Boys to the »Polskie Requiem« (»Polish requiem«) by Krzysztof Penderecki (1984).

Marc Vanrunxt, born in Antwerp in 1960, studied dance from 1976-81 and has been choreographing since 1984. He danced with numerous choreographers such as Thierry Smits and Jan Fabre and worked together with visual artists and composers. In 2001, he founded Kunst/Werk, an organisation for dance, in Antwerp. He is a guest lecturer at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts, Ghent.

Jan Martens, born in Beveren / Belgium in 1984, completed a dance education in Tilburg and Antwerp. After his diploma in 2006, he danced in different companies and has been choreographing since 2010. With the pieces »Victor« (2013) and »The dog days are over« (2014), his success began in innumerable cities and countries. At euro-scene Leipzig 2015, Jan Martens was a guest with »Sweat, baby, sweat« and in 2016 with the double evening »Bis« (»Encore«) and »Ode to the attempt«.


World première: 30.01.2019, deSingel, Antwerp

Contact: www.kunst-werk.be
www.grip.house

Production: Kunst/Werk & GRIP, Antwerp
Co-production: deSingel, Antwerp

29. Festival 2019

Hauptprogramm

Mittwoch, 06. November 2019 // 22.00 – 23.00 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Donnerstag, 07. November 2019 // 22.00 – 23.00 Uhr

Schaubühne Lindenfels

22,00 €
(erm. 17,00 €)


Jan Martens & Marc Vanrunxt,
Antwerpen

Belgien


»lostmovements«
(»Verlorenheit in Bewegungen«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Deutschlandpremiere


Konzeption und Choreografie: Marc Vanrunxt, Jan Martens

Musikcollage: Els Mondelaers

Bühnenbild: Katleen Vinck

Kostüme: Rick Owens

Lichtdesign: Stef Alleweireldt

Tänzer: Jan Martens

Wenige Texte in englischer Sprache (leicht verständlich)



Das neue Tanzsolo von und mit Jan Martens beruht auf zwei sehr verschiedenen Handschriften: seiner eigenen und der des Choreografen Marc Vanrunxt, mit dem er das Stück gemeinsam entwickelte. Jan Martens bringt Elemente von emotionaler Eleganz in die gewisse Brüchigkeit der Ästhetik von Marc Vanrunxt. In einer breiten Palette wechselt Verzweiflung mit Heiterkeit, Expressivität mit Stille.

Das Stück erscheint als großes Selbstportrait und strahlt doch Geheimnis aus: Der Respekt und Dank an bekannte Choreografen und weitere Künstler schaffen eine starke Allgemeingültigkeit. Abwechslungsreich ist auch die Musik zwischen den Pet Shop Boys und dem »Polskie Requiem« (»Polnisches Requiem«) von Krzysztof Penderecki (1984).

Marc Vanrunxt, geboren 1960 in Antwerpen, studierte Tanz 1976-81 und choreografiert seit 1984 selbst. Er tanzte bei zahlreichen Choreografen wie Thierry Smits und Jan Fabre und arbeitete mit bildenden Künstler*innen und Komponist*innen zusammen. 2001 gründete er Kunst/Werk, eine Organisation für Tanz in Antwerpen. Er ist Gastdozent an der Königlichen Akademie für Schöne Künste, Gent.

Jan Martens, 1984 in Beveren / Belgien geboren, absolvierte eine Tanzausbildung in Tilburg und Antwerpen. Nach seinem Abschluss 2006 tanzte er in verschiedenen Compagnien und choreografiert seit 2010. Mit den Stücken »Victor« (2013) und »The dog days are over« (»Die Hundstage sind vorbei«, 2014) startete sein Erfolg in ungezählten Städten und Ländern. Bei der euro-scene Leipzig 2015 war Jan Martens mit »Sweat, baby, sweat« (»Schwitz, Baby, schwitz«) und 2016 mit dem Doppelabend »Bis« (»Zugabe«) und »Ode to the attempt« (»Ode an den Versuch«) zu Gast.


Uraufführung: 30.01.2019, deSingel, Antwerpen

Kontakt: www.kunst-werk.be
www.grip.house

Produktion: Kunst/Werk & GRIP, Antwerpen

Koproduktion: deSingel, Antwerpen