29th Festival 2019

Main programme

Wednesday, 06. November 2019 // 3.00 – 10.00 p.m.

From 12 years

Thursday, 07. November 2019 // 3.00 – 10.00 p.m.

Friday, 08. November 2019 // 3.00 – 10.00 p.m.

Saturday, 09. November 2019 // 3.00 – 10.00 p.m.

Sunday, 10. November 2019 // 12.00 – 7.00 p.m.

(à 20 minutes for 5 audience members each)

Schauspielhaus / Diskothek

Unit price € 5,00


Compagnie Gilles Jobin & Artanim,
Geneva

Switzerland


»VR_I« VIDEO CLIP  

German première


Concept and choreography: Gilles Jobin

Virtual-reality-technology: Artanim

Costumes: Jean-Paul Lespagnard

Music- and Sounddesign: Carla Scaletti

3D-Artist: Tristan Siodlak

3D-Editing: Camilo De Martino

Dancers in the Video: Susana Panadés Díaz, Victoria Chiu, Diya Naidu, Gilles Jobin, Tidiani N’Diaye



A desert landscape in glaring sunlight reaches to infinity. Five avatars are facing each other on sandy ground. Virtual hands grasp hands of flesh and blood. What is real? And what is unreal? The dance piece »VR_I« by the Swiss choreographer Gilles Jobin is a mix of performance and a 3D-film in which five audience members can submerge at once.

The levels meld: The desert suddenly ends in a city landscape or in a hut on the summit of a mountain. Equipped with VR-glasses, the audience can move freely in the real space and interact with dancers of the virtual world. Thus, dance can be experienced in a new and different way. For the first time, a choreographer is combining dance with virtual reality technology.

Gilles Jobin, born in Lausanne in 1964, lives and works in Geneva. He studied classical dance in Cannes and Geneva. In 1993, he became the co-director of the Théâtre de l’Usine, Geneva; later, he was named house choreographer at the Théâtre Arsenic in Lausanne. After ten years as a dancer in Madrid (1995) and London (1997), he started choreographing and founded his own company that now belongs to one of the leading dance groups in Switzerland. In 2016, he shot the 3D-film »WOMB«. For »VR_I«, he received the Grand Prix for the most innovative work as well as the audience prize at the Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC), Explore, 2017 in Montréal.


World première: 06.10.2017, Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC), Explore, Montréal

Contact: www.gillesjobin.com
www.artanim.ch

Production: Compagnie Gilles Jobin & Artanim, Geneva

Co-Production: Arsenic, Lausanne

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Pro Helvetia – swiss arts council, Zurich, and Embassy of Switzerland in Federal Republic of Germany.

29. Festival 2019

Hauptprogramm

Mittwoch, 06. November 2019 // 15.00 – 22.00 Uhr

Ab 12 Jahre

Donnerstag, 07. November 2019 // 15.00 – 22.00 Uhr

Freitag, 08. November 2019 // 15.00 – 22.00 Uhr

Samstag, 09. November 2019 // 15.00 – 22.00 Uhr

Sonntag, 10. November 2019 // 12.00 – 19.00 Uhr

(à 20 Minuten für je 5 Zuschauer*innen)

Schauspielhaus / Diskothek

Einheitspreis 5,00 €


Compagnie Gilles Jobin & Artanim,
Genf

Schweiz


»VR_I« VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Deutschlandpremiere


Konzeption und Choreografie: Gilles Jobin

Virtual-Reality-Technologie: Artanim

Kostüme: Jean-Paul Lespagnard

Musik- und Sounddesign: Carla Scaletti

3D-Künstler: Tristan Siodlak

3D-Bearbeitung: Camilo De Martino

Tänzer*innen im Video: Susana Panad.s D.az, Victoria Chiu, Diya Naidu, Gilles Jobin, Tidiani N’Diaye



Eine Wüstenlandschaft in gleißendem Sonnenlicht reicht bis zur Unendlichkeit. Fünf Avatare stehen sich auf sandigem Boden gegenüber. Virtuelle Hände greifen dabei in Hände aus Fleisch und Blut. Was ist echt? Und was ist irreal? Das Tanzstück »VR_I« des Schweizer Choreografen Gilles Jobin ist eine Mischung aus Performance und einem 3D-Film, in den fünf Zuschauer*innen gleichzeitig eintauchen können.

Die Ebenen verschwimmen miteinander: Die Wüste erstreckt sich plötzlich in eine Stadtlandschaft oder in eine Hütte auf dem Gipfel eines Berges. Ausgestattet mit VR-Brillen bewegt sich das Publikum frei im realen Raum und interagiert mit den Tänzern der virtuellen Welt. So wird Tanz neu und anders erlebbar. Zum ersten Mal verbindet ein Choreograf Tanz mit Virtual-Reality-Technologie.

Gilles Jobin, 1964 in Lausanne geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Genf. Er studierte klassischen Tanz in Cannes und Genf. 1993 wurde er zum Co-Direktor des Théâtre de l’Usine, Genf, später zum Hauschoreografen des Théâtre Arsenic in Lausanne berufen. Nach 10jähriger Tätigkeit als Tänzer in Madrid (1995) und London (1997) begann er zu choreografieren und gründete seine eigene Compagnie, die zu den führenden Tanzgruppen der Schweiz gehört. 2016 drehte er den 3D-Film »WOMB«. Für »VR_I« erhielt er den Grand Prix für das innovativste Werk sowie den Publikumspreis beim Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC), Explore, 2017 in Montréal.


Uraufführung: 06.10.2017, Festival du nouveau cinéma (FNC), Explore, Montréal

Kontakt: www.gillesjobin.com
www.artanim.ch

Produktion: Compagnie Gilles Jobin & Artanim, Genf

Koproduktion: Arsenic, Lausanne

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Pro Helvetia – Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Zürich, und Schweizerische Botschaft in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.