29th Festival 2019


Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

29th Festival of contemporary European theatre and dance


05. Nov. – 10. Nov. 2019


»Parallelwelten«

(»Parallel worlds«)


Theatre and dance from the old and new Europe

With the patronage of Leipzig’s Mayor, Burkhard Jung


euro-scene Leipzig will take place for the 29th time from 05. – 10. November 2019. This year, 10 guest performances from 8 countries will be shown in approximately 22 performances at 7 venues. The spectrum extends from dance and spoken theatre, performances to a piece for children. 5 German premières are in the programme. Leipzig’s Mayor, Burkhard Jung, is the festival’s patron.

The motto for this year’s euro-scene Leipzig is »Parallelwelten« (»Parallel worlds«). The festival of contemporary European theatre and dance is devoting itself to different levels that lie parallel to one another or are interwoven: For example, the real and fictitious, the social and individual as well as the conscious and unconscious levels.

The piece »Am Königsweg« (»On the royal road«) by Elfriede Jelinek will open the euro-scene Leipzig at the Schauspielhaus. Nikolaus Habjan, the famous puppeteer, puppet-builder and director from Vienna, has often been euro-scene Leipzig’s guest. He staged Elfriede Jelinek’s highly controversial text at the Landestheater Niederösterreich, St. Pölten, as an Austrian première; this will be its first showing in Germany. The events surrounding an absolutist contemporary king are given an additional dimension with the implementation of the wonderful puppets.

To match the Bauhaus centennial, »Das Lackballett« (»The lacquer ballet«) (1941), based on Oskar Schlemmer, will be shown. The Theater der Klänge from Dusseldorf re-interprets the dance piece, which will be presented on stage again after almost 77 years of silence. In 2017, »Das Triadische Ballett« (»The triadic ballet«) (1922) by Oskar Schlemmer with the Bayerischen Juniorballett München already met with great enthusiasm.

Cristiana Morganti from Rome, long-term soloist at Pina Bausch’s Tanztheater in Wuppertal, will show her dance solo »Jessica and me«. The Swiss choreographer Gilles Jobin explores the connection between dance and virtual reality in his performance »VR_I«. Marjan Nečak from Bitola created the mono-opera »Diary of a madman« based on Nikolai Gogol. And the musical fairy tale »Peter und der Wolf« (»Peter and the wolf«) by Sergei Prokofiev is the template for the children’s piece »Pierre et le loup« by the French choreographer Émilie Lalande.

A reunion will take place with Angelin Preljocaj, one of the most famous French choreographers from Aix-en-Provence. His fantastic Ballet Preljocaj will dance three of his choreographies, which were assembled especially for Leipzig, to conclude the festival.

The competition »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« (»Best German Dance Solo«), conceived by Alain Platel from Ghent, will take place in the context of the festival for the 14th time.

euro-scene Leipzig is financed by the City of Leipzig and the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony as well as numerous representatives of the guest performance countries and other partners.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festival Director
Leipzig, 25.09.2019



Information and contact:

euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Artistic Advisory Council:

In 1995 an artistic advisory council was founded consisting of internationally known experts for contemporary theatre and dance. The members have advisory capacity and represent the festival internationally. Currently the council consists of the following colleagues:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Artistic Director – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rector – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden
\ Tilmann Broszat,
  Artistic Director – SPIELART Festival, Munich
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Consultant – internationale tanzmesse nrw, Dusseldorf

29. Festival 2019


Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

29. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes


05. Nov. – 10. Nov. 2019


»Parallelwelten«


Theater und Tanz aus dem alten und neuen Europa

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 05. – 10. November 2019 zum 29. Mal statt. In diesem Jahr werden 10 Gastspiele aus 8 Ländern in rund 22 Vorstellungen und 7 Spielstätten gezeigt. Das Spektrum umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater, Performances und ein Stück für Kinder. Im Programm sind 5 Deutschlandpremieren enthalten. Das Festival steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig.

Das Motto der diesjährigen euro-scene Leipzig lautet »Parallelwelten«. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes widmet sich dabei parallel liegenden oder miteinander verzahnten Ebenen, beispielsweise der realen und fiktiven, der gesellschaftlichen und individuellen sowie der bewussten und unbewussten Ebene.

Das Stück »Am Königsweg« von Elfriede Jelinek wird die euro-scene Leipzig im Schauspielhaus eröffnen. Nikolaus Habjan, bekannter Puppenspieler, Puppenbauer und Regisseur aus Wien, hat schon mehrfach bei der euro-scene Leipzig gastiert. Er inszenierte den hoch brisanten Text von Elfriede Jelinek am Landestheater Niederösterreich, St. Pölten, als österreichische Erstaufführung und kommt damit erstmals nach Deutschland. Das Geschehen um einen absolutistisch herrschenden König der Gegenwart erhält durch die wunderbaren Puppen eine zusätzliche Dimension.

Passend zum 100. Bauhaus-Jubiläum wird »Das Lackballett« (1941) nach Oskar Schlemmer gezeigt. Das Theater der Klänge aus Düsseldorf interpretiert das Tanzstück, das nach fast 77 Jahren der Stille erstmals wieder auf der Bühne erscheint, neu. Bereits 2017 sorgte »Das Triadische Ballett« (1922) von Oskar Schlemmer mit dem Bayerischen Juniorballett München für große Begeisterung.

Cristiana Morganti aus Rom, langjährige Solistin im Tanztheater von Pina Bausch in Wuppertal, zeigt ihr Tanztheatersolo »Jessica and me« (»Jessica und ich«). Die Verbindung von Tanz und virtueller Realität wagt der Schweizer Choreograf Gilles Jobin in seiner Performance »VR_I«. Marjan Nečak aus Bitola schuf die Mono-Oper »Diary of a madman« (»Tagebuch eines Wahnsinnigen«) nach Nikolai Gogol. Und das Musikmärchen »Peter und der Wolf« von Sergej Prokofjew diente als Vorlage für das Kinderstück »Pierre et le loup« der französischen Choreografin Émilie Lalande.

Ein Wiedersehen gibt es mit Angelin Preljocaj, einem der bekanntesten Choreografen Frankreichs aus Aix-en-Provence. Seine phantastische Compagnie tanzt in einer »Soirée Preljocaj« drei seiner Choreografien, die eigens für Leipzig zusammengestellt wurden, als Festivalabschluss.

Der Wettbewerb »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« in der Konzeption von Alain Platel aus Gent findet innerhalb des Festivals zum 14. Mal statt.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen sowie zahlreiche Vertretungen der Gastspielländer und weitere Partner.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festivaldirektorin
Leipzig, 25.09.2019



Informationen und Kontakt:

euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Künstlerischer Beirat:

Im Jahr 1995 wurde ein künstlerischer Beirat gegründet, dem international bekannte Fachleute für zeitgenössisches Theater und Tanz angehören. Die Mitglieder üben beratende Funktion bei der Programmgestaltung aus und vertreten das Festival auf internationaler Ebene. Der Beirat besteht aktuell aus folgenden Kollegen:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Künstlerische Leiterin – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rektor – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden
\ Axel Tangerding,
  Künstlerischer Leiter – Meta Theater, München
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Fachberater – internationale tanzmesse nrw, Düsseldorf