28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Sunday 11. Nov. 2018 // 7.30 – 8.30 p.m. (final night)

From 14 years

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

€ 28,00 / 24,00 / 18,00
(red. € 24,00 / 19,00 / 13,00)


Pierre Rigal / Compagnie dernière minute, Toulouse

FRANCE


»Scandale«
(»Trip hazards«) VIDEO CLIP  

Dance piece
German première



Conception and choreography: Pierre Rigal

Music: Gwenaël Drapeau, Julien Lepreux

Costumes: Mélanie Chartreux

Light design: Frédéric Stoll

Dancers: Camille Regneault, Emilie Schram, Steve Kamseu, Fabien Maitrel, Antonio Mvuani, Julien Saint-Maximin

Musician: Gwenaël Drapeau (drums, keyboard)



A shaman, but maybe also a magician or samurai, manipulates a group of six people. He is faceless and exerts a strange fascination. His hallucinatory powers put everyone in a trance. Even though this being seems to stem from mythology, he also seems very contemporary in his dangerous abuse of power. The unique thing: it is the performance’s musician – the personified music.

The piece »Scandale» (»Trip hazard«) is based on the hip-hop dance style and combines it with other up-tempo currents in contemporary dance such as breakdance, popping, crumping and clubbing. The title originates from »skándalon« (Greek) or »scandalum» (Latin) and means »impulse« or »nuisance«, though it can also mean incantation, rapture, indignation or stumbling.

Pierre Rigal was born in Moissac in southern France in 1973. He studied mathematic economics in Toulouse and did athletics at the same time. At the age of 23, he came to dance and worked with Heddy Maalem, Wim Vandekeybus, Nacera Belaza, Philippe Decouflé and Gilles Jobin among others. In 2003, he founded the Compagnie dernière minute, for which he created numerous pieces, for example »Asphalte« (2009) and »Standards« (2012). He choreographed the children’s piece »Merveille« (»Wonder«, 2018) for the Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris.


World première: 14.01.2017, Festival Suresnes Cités Danse, Théâtre de Suresnes, Paris

Contact: www.pierrerigal.net

Production: Compagnie dernière minute

Co-production: Théâtre de Suresnes Jean Vilar – Suresnes Cités Danse 2017 / Centre de développement chorégraphique national, Toulouse – Midi-Pyrénées

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Institut français, Berlin & French ministry of culture – DGCA, Paris.

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Sonntag 11. Nov. 2018 // 19.30 – 20.30 Uhr (Festivalabschluss)

Ab 14 Jahre

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

28,00 / 24,00 / 18,00 €
(erm. 24,00 / 19,00 / 13,00 €)


Pierre Rigal / Compagnie dernière minute, Toulouse

FRANKREICH


»Scandale«
(»Stolperfallen«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Tanzstück
Deutschlandpremiere



Konzeption und Choreografie: Pierre Rigal

Musik: Gwenaël Drapeau, Julien Lepreux

Kostüme: Mélanie Chartreux

Lichtdesign: Frédéric Stoll

Tänzer: Camille Regneault, Emilie Schram, Steve Kamseu, Fabien Maitrel, Antonio Mvuani, Julien Saint-Maximin

Musiker: Gwenaël Drapeau (Schlagzeug, Keyboard)



Ein Schamane, vielleicht auch ein Zauberer oder Samurai, manipuliert eine Gruppe von sechs Menschen. Er ist gesichtslos und übt eine seltsame Faszination aus. Seine halluzinatorischen Kräfte versetzen jeden in Trance. Obwohl das Lebewesen der Mythologie entlehnt zu sein scheint, wirkt es in seinem gefährlichen Missbrauch von Macht auch sehr aktuell. Die Besonderheit dabei: Es handelt sich um den Musiker der Aufführung – die personifizierte Musik. 

Das Stück »Scandale« (»Stolperfallen«) beruht auf dem Tanzstil des Hip-Hop und verbindet diesen mit anderen temporeichen Strömungen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes wie Breakdance, Popping, Krump und Clubbing. Der Titel geht auf »skándalon« (griechisch) bzw. »scandalum« (latein) zurück und bedeutet »Anstoß« oder »Ärgernis«, kann aber auch Beschwörung, Rausch, Empörung oder Stolpern bedeuten. 

Pierre Rigal wurde 1973 im südfranzösischen Moissac geboren. Er studierte Mathematische Ökonomie in Toulouse und praktizierte parallel dazu Leichtathletik. Im Alter von 23 Jahren fand er zum Tanz und arbeitete u. a. mit Heddy Maalem, Wim Vandekeybus, Nacera Belaza, Philippe Decouflé und Gilles Jobin zusammen. 2003 gründete er die Compagnie dernière minute, für die er zahlreiche Stücke, u. a. »Asphalte« (2009) und »Standards« (2012), schuf. Er choreografierte für das Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris das Kinderstück »Merveille« (»Wunder«, 2018).


Uraufführung: 14.01.2017, Festival Suresnes Cités Danse, Théâtre de Suresnes, Paris

Kontakt: www.pierrerigal.net

Produktion: Compagnie dernière minute

Koproduktion: Théâtre de Suresnes Jean Vilar – Suresnes Cités Danse 2017 / Centre de développement chorégraphique national, Toulouse – Midi-Pyrénées

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Institut français, Berlin & Französisches Ministerium für Kultur – DGCA, Paris.