28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Friday 09. Nov. 2018 // 10.00 – 11.00 p.m.

From 16 years

Saturday 10. Nov. 2018 // 5.00 – 6.00 p.m.

Schaubühne Lindenfels

€ 22,00 (red. € 17,00)


Compagnie ERRATICA, London

GREAT BRITAIN


»Remnants« VIDEO CLIP  

Music theatre
German première



Text: Courtney Angela Brkic

Conception and staging: Patrick Eakin Young

Choreography: Jamila Johnson-Small

Music: Christian Mason, Shelley Parker

Scenery and costumes: Ana Inés Jabares-Pita

Light design: Burke Brown

Singers and actors: Emma Bonnici, Victoria Couper, Eugenia Georgieva, Olesya Zdorovestska

Dancer: Fabiola Santana


In English with German subtitles



A mesh of vocals, electronic music, dance and recordings of interviews – the work evades any categorization. Traditional songs from the Balkans are linked to the dancer’s movement. Five women complete extremely disturbing excavations from post-war Bosnian ground, accompanied by harmonic sounds.

The piece »Remnants« is based on the memoirs »The stone fields« by the Croatian-American author Courtney Angela Brkic, born in 1972, and the history of her Bosnian family. Confronted by the effects of crimes committed during the Bosnian War 1992-95, she dealt with her family history and travelled to Bosnia and Hercegovina to help excavate mass graves in 1996. The director Patrick Eakin Young interviewed the author, whose voice can be heard in the piece.

Patrick Eakin Young was born in Toronto in 1982 and lives in London. He studied literature at Columbia University in New York, worked at numerous theatres in the USA, was an assistant of the South African artist William Kentridge and received a grant at the academy of the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Since 2007, he has been directing the Compagnie ERRATICA, with which he creates contemporary music theatre. Electronic music and the human voice have always been the foundation of his creativity.


World première: 12.06.2017, The Coronet, The Print Room, London

Contact: www.erratica.org

Production: Compagnie ERRATICA / The Coronet, London

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of British Council & UK/DE 2018.

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Freitag 09. Nov. 2018 // 22.00 – 23.00 Uhr

Ab 16 Jahre

Samstag, 10. Nov. 2018 // 17.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Schaubühne Lindenfels

22,00 € (erm. 17,00 €)


Compagnie ERRATICA, London

GROßBRITANNIEN


»Remnants«
(»Überreste«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Musiktheater
Deutschlandpremiere



Text: Courtney Angela Brkic

Konzeption und Inszenierung: Patrick Eakin Young

Choreografie: Jamila Johnson-Small

Musik: Christian Mason, Shelley Parker

Bühnenbild und Kostüme: Ana Inés Jabares-Pita

Lichtdesign: Burke Brown

Sängerinnen und Darstellerinnen: Emma Bonnici, Victoria Couper, Eugenia Georgieva, Olesya Zdorovestska

Tänzerin: Fabiola Santana


In englischer Sprache mit deutscher Übertitelung



Ein Geflecht aus Gesang, elektronischer Musik, Tanz und Tonaufzeichnungen von Interviews – das Werk entzieht sich jeglicher Kategorisierung. Traditionelle Balkanlieder werden mit den Bewegungen einer Tänzerin gekoppelt. Fünf Frauen vollziehen zu harmonischen Klängen äußerst verstörende Ausgrabungen aus dem Boden des Nachkriegsbosniens. 

Das Stück »Remnants« (»Überreste«) beruht auf den Memoiren »The stone fields« (»Die Steinfelder«) der kroatisch-amerikanischen Autorin Courtney Angela Brkic, geboren 1972, und der Geschichte ihrer bosnischen Familie. Konfrontiert mit den Folgen der Verbrechen des Bosnienkrieges 1992-95, setzte sie sich mit der eigenen Familiengeschichte auseinander und reiste 1996 nach Bosnien und Herzegowina, um bei der Aushebung von Massengräbern zu helfen. Der Regisseur Patrick Eakin Young führte Interviews mit der Autorin, deren Stimme im Stück selbst zu hören ist. 

Patrick Eakin Young wurde 1982 in Toronto geboren und lebt in London. Er studierte Literatur an der Columbia University in New York, arbeitete an zahlreichen Theatern in den USA, war Assistent des südafrikanischen Künstlers William Kentridge und erhielt ein Stipendium an der Akademie des Festivals d’Aix-en-Provence. Seit 2007 leitet er die Compagnie ERRATICA, mit der er zeitgenössisches Musiktheater inszeniert. Stets sind elektronische Musik und die menschliche Stimme Grundlage seines Schaffens.


Uraufführung: 12.06.2017, The Coronet, The Print Room, London

Kontakt: www.erratica.org

Produktion: Compagnie ERRATICA / The Coronet, London

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung des British Council & UK/DE 2018.