28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Friday 09. Nov. 2018 // 10.00 – 11.30 p.m.

From 14 years

Saturday 10. Nov. 2018 // 7.30 – 9.00 p.m.

Schauspielhaus / Garderobenfoyer

€ 22,00 (red. € 17,00)


Pygmalion Theater Wien

AUSTRIA


»Die Schachnovelle«
(»The royal game«) VIDEO CLIP  

Theatre piece based on the novel with the same name by Stefan Zweig
German première



Dramaturgy, staging and music selection: Geirun Tino

Artists: Geirun Tino (Dr. B.), Philipp Kaplan (Stefan), Balázs Pohl (McConnor), Daniel Gavris (Der Kellner), Sára Jenike (09.11.) / Madeleine Steinwender (10.11.) (Das Mädchen),
Lisa Kröll (Die Reporterin), Johannes Neubert (Mirko Czentovic)



One day in 1938, Dr. B. is arrested by the Gestapo in Vienna, which is occupied by the German army, and brought into a hermetically sealed hotel room in solitary confinement. His psychological restlessness, which is growing from the lack of any distractions – is intensified by the Gestapo’s interrogations – this leads him to steal a chess book. He studies the 150 master games included therein and can then finally play them all blind. His ability to play against himself in his mind reaches manic proportions in the total silence of his hotel room. 

»Schachnovelle« (»The royal game«) is a novella by Stefan Zweig (1881-1942), which he wrote between 1938 and 1941 in Brazilian exile. It is the last and simultaneously most famous work by Stefan Zweig, one of the most important and most popular authors of the 20th century. The first edition of the work was published in Buenos Aires in 1942; in Germany, it has remained a bestseller to the present day since its publication as a paperback in 1974. 

Geirun Tino was born in Brăila / Romania as the son of an Italian father and an Austrian mother in 1950. He studied directing at the Academy for Theatre and Film in Bucarest and staged over 30 pieces at city theatres in Romania from 1974-1985. In 1985, he was blacklisted for political reasons and fled to Vienna. In Austria, he worked as a director and initiated festivals before opening the Pygmalion Theater Wien in 1995. Up until now, he has directed over 40 pieces here, for example based on Franz Kafka, Nikolai Gogol and Joseph Roth.


The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Austrian Cultural Forum, Berlin.

World première: 17.01.2013, Pygmalion Theater Wien

Contact: www.pygmaliontheater.at

Production: Pygmalion Theater Wien

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Freitag 09. Nov. 2018 // 22.00 – 23.30 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Samstag 10. Nov. 2018 // 19.30 – 21.00 Uhr

Schauspielhaus / Garderobenfoyer

22,00 € (erm. 17,00 €)


Pygmalion Theater Wien

ÖSTERREICH


»Die Schachnovelle« VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Theaterstück nach der gleichnamigen Novelle von Stefan Zweig
Deutschlandpremiere



Dramatisierung, Inszenierung und Musikauswahl: Geirun Tino

Darsteller: Geirun Tino (Dr. B.), Philipp Kaplan (Stefan), Balázs Pohl (McConnor), Daniel Gavris (Der Kellner), Sára Jenike (09.11.) / Madeleine Steinwender (10.11.) (Das Mädchen), Lisa Kröll (Die Reporterin), Johannes Neubert (Mirko Czentovic)



Eines Tages wird Dr. B. in Wien, besetzt von der deutschen Wehrmacht, 1938 von der Gestapo verhaftet und in ein hermetisch abgeschirmtes Hotelzimmer in Einzelhaft gebracht. Seine aus Ermangelung jeglicher Ablenkungsmöglichkeit wachsende psychische Rastlosigkeit – intensiviert durch die Verhöre der Gestapo – lässt ihn ein Schachbuch stehlen. Die darin enthaltenen 150 Meisterpartien studiert er und vermag schließlich, diese blind nachzuspielen. Seine Fähigkeit, im Geiste gegen sich selbst anzutreten, erreicht in der totalen Stille des Hotelzimmers ein manisches Ausmaß. 

»Schachnovelle« ist eine Erzählung von Stefan Zweig (1881-1942), die er zwischen 1938 und 1941 im brasilianischen Exil schrieb. Es ist das letzte und zugleich bekannteste Werk von Stefan Zweig, einem der wichtigsten und beliebtesten Schriftsteller des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Erstausgabe des Werks erschien 1942 in Buenos Aires, in Deutschland entwickelte es sich seit seinem Erscheinen als Taschenbuch 1974 bis heute zu einem Dauerbestseller. 

Geirun Tino wurde 1950 in Brăila / Rumänien als Sohn eines italienischen Vaters und einer österreichischen Mutter geboren. Er studierte Regie an der Akademie für Theater und Film in Bukarest und inszenierte 1974-85 über 30 Stücke an Stadttheatern in Rumänien. 1985 erhielt er aus politischen Gründen Arbeitsverbot und flüchtete nach Wien. In Österreich war er als Regisseur tätig und initiierte Festivals, bevor er 1995 das Pygmalion Theater Wien eröffnete. Hier inszenierte er bisher über 40 Stücke, z. B. nach Franz Kafka, Nikolai Gogol und Joseph Roth.


Uraufführung: 17.01.2013, Pygmalion Theater Wien

Kontakt: www.pygmaliontheater.at

Produktion: Pygmalion Theater Wien

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Österreichische Kulturforum Berlin.