28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Friday, 09. Nov. 2018 // 7.30 – 9.30 p.m.

From 14 years

Alte Handelsbörse

€ 24,00 (red. € 19,00)


Nikolaus Habjan, Vienna

AUSTRIA


»Ich pfeife auf die Oper«
(Double meaning in German: »I whistle an opera« & »To hell with the opera«) VIDEO CLIP  

Scenic artist whistling concert



Arias by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Gioacchino Rossini, Antonin Dvořak, Giuseppe Verdi,
Giacomo Puccini, Jacques Offenbach, Johann Straus and others

Conception, music selection, art whistler and moderator: Nikolaus Habjan

Pianist: Daniel Nguyen


Following the concert: public reception by the Austrian Cultural Forum, Berlin



Nikolaus Habjan brings a buried treasure from our culture back to the surface: he has created a virtuously whistled evening with popular arias from the last three centuries. Together with the pianist Daniel Nguyen, he presents a colourful selection of famous opera and operetta arias and guides us highly entertaining and humorous through the concert with Viennese charm.

The art of whistling, a now almost forgotten form of music making, developed in the 19th century among the Austrian upper class. Nikolaus Habjan has already been celebrated in numerous theatres and concert halls with his evening »Ich pfeife auf die Oper« (double meaning in German: »I whistle an opera« & »To hell with the opera«), among them Konzerthaus Wien, Schauspielhaus Graz and at the Bregenzer Festspiele. 

Nikolaus Habjan, born in Graz in 1987, is a puppet builder, puppeteer, director and performer. He studied music theatre directing in Vienna and received the Nestroy-Prize 2012 for his piece »F. Zawrel – erbbiologisch und sozial minderwertig« (»F. Zawrel – genetically and socially inferior«). Without a doubt, he is one of the most interesting and multi-faceted artists of his generation in Austria and works at the Schauspielhaus Graz, Burgtheater Wien among others. He was a first-time guest at euro-scene Leipzig with four pieces in 2016.

Daniel Nguyen, born in Bregenz in 1985, studied piano at the Vorarlberger Landeskonservatorium in Feldkirch. He is a multiple prize winner of the state and federal competition Prima la Musica. In the piece »Schlag sie tot« (»Beat them to death«, 2008), he worked with Nikolaus Habjan for the first time. He works full-time as a doctor in Baden near Vienna.


World première: 02.07.2011, KulturHausKeller, Festival micro&kleinSTkunst, Straden

Contact: www.nikolaushabjan.com

Production: Nikolaus Habjan

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Austrian Cultural Forum, Berlin.

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Freitag, 09. November 2018 // 19.30 – 21.30 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Alte Handelsbörse

24,00 € (erm. 19,00 €)


Nikolaus Habjan, Wien

ÖSTERREICH


»Ich pfeife auf die Oper« VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Szenisches Kunstpfeifkonzert



Arien von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Gioacchino Rossini, Antonín Dvořák, Giuseppe Verdi, Giacomo Puccini, Jacques Offenbach, Johann Strauß u. a.

Konzeption, Musikauswahl, Kunstpfeifer und Moderator: Nikolaus Habjan

Pianist: Daniel Nguyen


Im Anschluss öffentlicher Empfang des Österreichischen Kulturforum Berlin.



Nikolaus Habjan bringt einen verschütteten Schatz unserer Kultur wieder ans Licht: Er gestaltet einen virtuos gepfiffenen Abend mit beliebten Arien aus drei Jahrhunderten. Gemeinsam mit dem Pianisten Daniel Nguyen präsentiert er eine bunte Auswahl bekannter Opern- und Operettenarien und führt dabei mit wienerischem Charme höchst unterhaltsam und humorvoll selbst durch das Konzert. 

Die heute fast vergessene Musizierform des Kunstpfeifens entstand im 19. Jahrhundert in der österreichischen Oberschicht. Nikolaus Habjan wurde mit seinem Abend »Ich pfeife auf die Oper« bereits in zahlreichen Theatern und Konzertsälen umjubelt, so im Konzerthaus Wien, im Schauspielhaus Graz und bei den Bregenzer Festspielen. 

Nikolaus Habjan, geboren 1987 in Graz, ist Puppenbauer, Puppenspieler, Regisseur und Darsteller. Er studierte Musiktheaterregie in Wien und erhielt für sein Stück »F. Zawrel – erbbiologisch und sozial minderwertig« den Nestroy-Preis 2012. Er ist zweifellos einer der interessantesten und vielseitigsten Künstler seiner Generation in Österreich und arbeitet am Schauspielhaus Graz, Burgtheater Wien u. a. Bei der euro-scene Leipzig gastierte er erstmals 2016 mit vier Stücken. 

Daniel Nguyen, geboren 1985 in Bregenz, studierte Klavier am Vorarlberger Landeskonservatorium in Feldkirch. Er ist mehrfacher Preisträger des Landes- und Bundeswettbewerbs Prima la Musica. Bei dem Stück »Schlag sie tot« (2008) arbeitete er erstmals mit Nikolaus Habjan zusammen. Hauptberuflich wirkt er als Arzt in Baden bei Wien.


Uraufführung: 02.07.2011, KulturHausKeller, Festival micro&kleinSTkunst, Straden

Kontakt: www.nikolaushabjan.com

Produktion: Nikolaus Habjan

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Österreichische Kulturforum Berlin.