28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Wednesday 07. Nov. 2018 // 10.00 – 11.15 p.m.

From 16 years

Thursday, 08. Nov. 2018 // 7.30 – 8.45 p.m.

Theater der Jungen Welt / Großer Saal

€ 22,00 (red. € 17,00)


Via Negativa / Bojan Jablanovec, Ljubljana

SLOVENIA


»Deveta«
(»The ninth«) VIDEO CLIP  

Performance



Concept and staging: Bojan Jablanovec, conceived and elaborated by the compagnie

Choreographic supervision: Anita Wach

Music: Ludwig van Beethoven, Sinfonie Nr. 9, d-Moll, op. 125 (Berliner Philharmoniker, Conducter: Herbert von Karajan, 1963)

Horse masks: Barbara Stupica

Video: Ana Čigon

Light design: Igor Remeta

Actors: Magdalena Tuka, Anita Wach, Loup Abramovici, Jaka Lah, Grega Zorc



The Symphony No. 9 by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) is one of the most popular works of classical music and is considered the epitome of humanism. Beethoven selected the poem »An die Freude« (»Ode to joy«) by Friedrich Schiller as the text for the last movement. It was played at the fall of the Berlin Wall. It is performed by all the world’s major orchestras throughout the year. In 1985, its fourth movement was selected by the European Union to be Europe’s hymn. Without a doubt, it is a fascinating work. Pathos and harmony, festivity, solemnity –it can be used for all purposes.

The piece »Deveta« (»The ninth«) is a performative commentary on this musical masterpiece, it poses questions on the power of music and its abuse. Five people transform from average individuals who disrobe over time and thus lose their individuality to horses as iconographic figures. Reality clashes brutally with the glorifying sounds of a better world. The piece is based on motifs from the book »L’aperto. L’uomo e l’animale« (»The open: man and animal«, 2002) by the Italian philosopher and author Giorgio Agamben.

Bojan Jablanovec, born in Murska Sobota in 1961, graduated from the theatre academy of the University of Ljubljana. From 1993-99, he directed at various Slovenian theatres. In 2002, he founded Via Negativa, an international platform for contemporary performing arts and performance, which he has been directing to the present day. Via Negativa developed over 50 pieces, projects and numerous workshops that have been shown in 24 European countries and the USA.


World première: 08.10.2016, Body/Mind Festival, Nowy Teatr, Warsaw

Contact: www.vntheatre.com

Production: Via Negativa

Co-Production: JaJaJa NeNeNe Association, Warsaw

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Slovenian Cultural Centre, Berlin.

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Mittwoch 07. Nov. 2018 // 22.00 – 23.15 Uhr

Ab 16 Jahre

Donnerstag 08. Nov. 2018 // 19.30 – 20.45 Uhr

Theater der Jungen Welt / Großer Saal

22,00 € (erm. 17,00 €)


Via Negativa / Bojan Jablanovec, Ljubljana

SLOWENIEN


»Deveta«
(»Die Neunte«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Performance



Idee und Inszenierung: Bojan Jablanovec, konzipiert und ausgearbeitet durch die Compagnie

Choreografische Leitung: Anita Wach

Musik: Ludwig van Beethoven, Sinfonie Nr. 9, d-Moll, op. 125 (Berliner Philharmoniker, Dirigent: Herbert von Karajan, 1963)

Pferdemasken: Barbara Stupica

Video: Ana Čigon

Lichtdesign: Igor Remeta

Darsteller: Magdalena Tuka, Anita Wach, Loup Abramovici, Jaka Lah, Grega Zorc



Die 9. Sinfonie von Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) ist eines der populärsten Werke der klassischen Musik und gilt als Inbegriff des Humanismus. Als Text für den Finalsatz wählte Beethoven das Gedicht »An die Freude« von Friedrich Schiller. Man hat sie beim Berliner Mauerfall gespielt. Sie wird von allen großen Orchestern der Welt rund ums Jahr aufgeführt. 1985 wurde ihr 4. Satz von der Europäischen Union zur Europahymne erklärt. Zweifellos ein hinreißendes Werk. Pathos und Wohlklang, Feierlichkeit, Erhabenheit – nutzbar für alle Zwecke. 

Das Stück »Deveta« (»Die Neunte«) ist ein performativer Kommentar zu diesem musikalischen Meisterwerk und stellt Fragen nach der Macht von Musik und deren Missbrauch. Fünf Personen wandeln sich von gewöhnlichen Leuten, die sich nach und nach entkleiden und damit ihre Individualität verlieren, zu Pferden als ikonografische Figuren. Knallhart prallt hier die Realität auf die verklärenden Klänge einer besseren Welt. Das Stück beruht auf Motiven des Buchs »L’ aperto. L’ uomo e l’animale« (»Das Offene. Der Mensch und das Tier«, 2002) des italienischen Philosophen und Schriftstellers Giorgio Agamben. 

Bojan Jablanovec, 1961 in Murska Sobota geboren, absolvierte die Theaterakademie an der Universität Ljubljana. Von 1993-99 führte er Regie an zahlreichen slowenischen Theatern. 2002 gründete er Via Negativa, eine internationale Plattform für zeitgenössische darstellende Kunst und Performance, die er bis heute künstlerisch leitet. Via Negativa entwickelte über 50 Stücke, Projekte und zahlreiche Workshops, die in 24 europäischen Ländern und den USA gezeigt wurden.


Uraufführung: 08.10.2016, Body/Mind Festival, Nowy Teatr, Warschau

Kontakt: www.vntheatre.com

Produktion: Via Negativa

Koproduktion: JaJaJa NeNeNe Association, Warschau

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch das Slowenische Kulturzentrum Berlin.