28th Festival 2018


Main programme

Tuesday 06. Nov. // 7.30 – 9.15 p.m. / opening night

From 16 years

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

€ 28.00 / 24.00 / 18.00
(red. € 24.00 / 19.00 / 13.00)


Alain Platel & Fabrizio Cassol / les ballets C de la B, Ghent

BELGIUM


»Requiem pour L.«
(»Requiem for L.«) VIDEO CLIP  

Scenic concert



Choreography, staging and scenery: Alain Platel

Music: Fabrizio Cassol after Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Requiem, d-Moll, KV 626

Musical direction: Rodriguez Vangama

Singers and actors: Nobulumko Mngxekeza, Stephen Diaz / Rodrigo Ferreira, Owen Metsileng, Fredy Massamba, Boule Mpanya, Russell Tshiebua

Musicians: Joã o Barradas, Niels Van Heertum, Bouton Kalanda, Silva Makengo, Erick Ngoya, Kojack Kossakamvwe, Rodriguez Vangama, Michel Seba


Following the performance: public reception of the Flemish Government, Berlin



The Requiem was Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s last composition. When he died at an age of only 35 in 1791, the work was incomplete; it was finished by Franz Xaver Süßmayr, one of his students, and premiered in Vienna in 1793. This musical legacy is the point of departure for a contemporary funeral mass. Alain Platel and the composer Fabrizio Cassol created, together with musicians from Congo, South Africa, Brazil and Europe, an intercontinental dialogue and an unusual approach to this musical heritage.

Like an observer of her own farewell ritual, a woman with the abbreviated name L. –the »L« in the title of the work refers to her – looks down onto the stage from a screen. In the last moments before her death, sleeping states and being awake appear in slow motion. The piece shows a strangely fascinating symbiosis of an ecstatic concert and documentary funeral ceremony.

Alain Platel, born in 1956, has been residing in the Flemish Ghent up until the present day; he is one of the most important choreographers of our times. In 1984, he founded the company les ballets C de la B in his home city; it has – without a doubt – belonged to the most successful dance and theatre groups in the world for years now. Alain Platel will be a guest of the euro-scene Leipzig for the 9th time since 1996, where he recently showed »En avant, marche!« (»Forward, march!«, 2015)


World première: 18.01.2018, Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Berlin

Contact: www.lesballetscdela.be

Production: les ballets C de la B / Festival de Marseille / Berliner Festspiele

Co-Production: Opera de Lille / Theatre National de Chaillot, Paris / Les Theatres de la Ville de Luxembourg / Onassis Cultural Centre, Athen / Torinodanza Festival, Turin / Aperto Festival – Fondazione I Teatri di Reggio Emilia / Kampnagel Hamburg / Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele / Festspielhaus St. Polten / L’Arsenal de Metz / Scene Nationale du Sud Aquitaine, Bayonne / La Ville de Marseille

The guest performance in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of the Flemish Government, Berlin.

28. Festival 2018

Hauptprogramm

Dienstag 06. Nov. // 19.30 – 21.15 Uhr / Festivaleröffnung

Ab 16 Jahre

Schauspielhaus / Große Bühne

28,00 / 24,00 / 18,00 €
(erm. 24,00 / 19,00 / 13,00 €)


Alain Platel & Fabrizio Cassol / les ballets C de la B, Gent

BELGIEN


»Requiem pour L.«
(»Requiem für L.«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Szenisches Konzert



Choreografie, Inszenierung und Bühnenbild: Alain Platel

Musik: Fabrizio Cassol nach Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Requiem, d-Moll, KV 626

Musikalische Leitung: Rodriguez Vangama

Sänger und Darsteller: Nobulumko Mngxekeza, Stephen Diaz / Rodrigo Ferreira, Owen Metsileng, Fredy Massamba, Boule Mpanya, Russell Tshiebua

Musiker: João Barradas, Niels Van Heertum, Bouton Kalanda, Silva Makengo, Erick Ngoya, Kojack Kossakamvwe, Rodriguez Vangama, Michel Seba


Im Anschluss öffentlicher Empfang der Regierung Flandern, Berlin



Das Requiem ist die letzte Komposition von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Bei seinem Tod 1791 im Alter von nur 35 Jahren war das Werk unvollendet und wurde durch Franz Xaver Süßmayr, einen seiner Schüler, fertiggestellt und 1793 in Wien uraufgeführt. Dieses musikalische Vermächtnis ist der Ausgangspunkt für eine neuzeitliche Totenmesse. Alain Platel und der Komponist Fabrizio Cassol schufen, gemeinsam mit Musikern aus dem Kongo, Südafrika, Brasilien und Europa, einen interkontinentalen Dialog und einen ungewöhnlichen Umgang mit dem musikalischen Erbe. 

Wie eine Beobachterin ihres eigenen Abschiedsrituals blickt eine Frau mit dem abgekürzten Namen L. – für sie steht das »L« im Titel des Werks – von einer Leinwand auf die Bühne. In den letzten Momenten vor ihrem Tod erscheinen in Zeitlupe Schlaf- und Wachzustände. Das Stück stellt eine seltsam-faszinierende Symbiose aus rauschhaftem Konzert und dokumentarischer Totenfeier dar. 

Alain Platel, geboren 1956 und bis heute wohnend im flämischen Gent, ist einer der bedeutendsten Choreografen unserer Zeit. Er gründete 1984 in seiner Heimatstadt die Compagnie les ballets C de la B, die seit Jahren zweifellos zu den erfolgreichsten Tanz- und Theatergruppen weltweit gehört. Bei der euro-scene Leipzig ist Alain Platel seit 1996 zum 9. Mal zu Gast und zeigte hier zuletzt »En avant, marche!« (»Vorwärts, marsch!«, 2015).


Uraufführung: 18.01.2018, Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Berlin

Kontakt: www.lesballetscdela.be

Produktion: les ballets C de la B / Festival de Marseille / Berliner Festspiele

Koproduktion: Opéra de Lille / Théâtre National de Chaillot, Paris / Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg / Onassis Cultural Centre, Athen / Torinodanza Festival, Turin / Aperto Festival – Fondazione I Teatri di Reggio Emilia / Kampnagel Hamburg / Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele / Festspielhaus St. Pölten / L’Arsenal de Metz / Scène Nationale du Sud Aquitaine, Bayonne / La Ville de Marseille – Opéra

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Regierung Flandern, Berlin.