28th Festival 2018


Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

28th Festival of contemporary European theatre and dance


06. Nov. – 11. Nov. 2018


»Bühnen – Klang – Welten«

(»Stage – Sound – Worlds«)

Theatre and dance from the old and new Europe

Under the patronage of Burkhard Jung, Lord Mayor of the City of Leipzig


euro-scene Leipzig will take place for the 28th time from 06. – 11. November 2018. The festival for contemporary European theatre and dance will show 12 guest performances from 7 countries in around 25 shows at 8 venues; among them are 5 German premières. The spectrum includes dance and spoken theatre, performances and a children’s play. The festival’s patron is Burkhard Jung, the mayor of the City of Leipzig. The programme selection lies in the hands of the festival director, Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, in cooperation with the Artistic Advisory Council.

This year’s festival motto is »Bühnen – Klang – Welten« (»Stage – Sound – Worlds«)«. The programme is devoted to music in theatre and dance, whereby numerous forms of implementing music in scenic stage forms will play a role, for example in a relationship to live music, sound, noise, text and silence.

The famous choreographer and director Alain Platel from Belgium will open this year’s euro-scene Leipzig at the Schauspielhaus with »Requiem pour L.« (»Requiem for L.«). The scenic concert combines Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Requiem with African music and is devoted to the subject of death in a variety of cultures. Another classical work can be heard as well: Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. In the performance »Deveta« (»The ninth«), Bojan Jablanovec from Ljubljana and his Compagnie Via Negativa pose questions about power and the instrumentalization of music.

The well-known puppet builder, puppeteer, director and performer Nikolaus Habjan from Vienna is – after the enthusiastic response to his 2016 showcase – Leipzig’s guest once again. He directed the piece »Böhm« at the Schauspiel Graz; it is devoted to one of the most important directors of the 20th century, Karl Böhm. Nikolaus Habjan performs the great solo together with numerous puppets. In addition, he will also show his humorous artistic whistling concert »Ich pfeife auf die Oper« (double meaning in German: »I whistle an opera« and »To hell with the opera«) with arias from operas and operettas. Here, he revives the baroque art of artistic whistling: it has received enthusiastic applause in major theatres and concert halls, e. g. in Vienna, Salzburg and Munich.

Dance is well represented: Nono Battesti, Brussels, mixes captivating dance duets with jazz songs; Gianfranco Celestino & Annalisa Derossi, Luxembourg, present themselves as dancers as well as pianists; and Ferenc Fehér from Budapest is giving a guest performance with a suggestive dance piece.

Spoken theatre comes from London: the Compagnie Erratica with its piece »Remnants« by Patrick Eakin Young enters into historic abysses accompanied by a-cappella-singing. And »Die Schachnovelle« (»The royal game«) – based on the famous novella by Stefan Zweig – will be shown in a scenic version by Geirun Tino with the Pygmalion Theater Wien.

Two guest performances from France round off the festival programme: the magical children’s play »Une histoire de la musique« (»A history of music«) by the Compagnie zOrozora from Grenoble leads us through the centuries with three musicians/performers. And the choreographer Pierre Rigal from Toulouse will show his dance piece »Scandale« (»Trip hazards«) with up-tempo hip-hop-elements to conclude the festival. Films, public discussions and a workshop supplement the guest performances.

The euro-scene Leipzig is financed by the city of Leipzig and the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony, as well as numerous embassies from the countries of the guest performances and partners. Cultural partners are MDR Kultur and ARTE.

Ticket sale will start on 29.09.2018.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festival Director
Leipzig, 05.07.2018



Information and contact:

euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Artistic Advisory Council:

In 1995 an artistic advisory council was founded consisting of internationally known experts for contemporary theatre and dance. The members have advisory capacity and represent the festival internationally. Currently the council consists of the following colleagues:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Artistic Director – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rector – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden
\ Tilmann Broszat,
  Artistic Director – SPIELART Festival, Munich
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Consultant – internationale tanzmesse nrw, Dusseldorf

28. Festival 2018


Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

28. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes


06. Nov. – 11. Nov. 2018


»Bühnen – Klang – Welten«

Theater und Tanz aus dem alten und neuen Europa

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 06. Nov. – 11. Nov. 2018 zum 28. Mal statt. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes zeigt 12 Gastspiele aus 7 Ländern in rund 25 Vorstellungen und 8 Spielstätten, darunter 5 Deutschlandpremieren. Das Spektrum umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater, Performances und ein Stück für Kinder. Die Schirmherrschaft übernimmt Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig. Die Programmauswahl liegt in den Händen von Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstlerischen Beirat.

Das diesjährige Festival steht unter dem Motto »Bühnen – Klang – Welten«. Das Programm widmet sich der Musik in Theater und Tanz, wobei zahlreiche Formen des Umgangs mit Musik bei szenischen Bühnenformen eine Rolle spielen, so beispielsweise mit Live-Musik, Klang, Geräusch, Text und Stille.

Der bekannte Choreograf und Regisseur Alain Platel aus Belgien wird mit seinem neuesten Stück »Requiem pour L.« (»Requiem für L.«) die diesjährige euro-scene Leipzig im Schauspielhaus eröffnen. Das szenische Konzert verbindet das Requiem von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart mit afrikanischer Musik und widmet sich dem Thema des Todes in unterschiedlichen Kulturen. Mit der 9. Sinfonie von Ludwig van Beethoven kommt ein weiteres klassisches Werk zu Gehör: In der Performance »Deveta« (»Die Neunte«) stellt Bojan Jablanovec aus Ljubljana mit seiner Compagnie Via Negativa Fragen nach Macht und Missbrauch von Musik.

Der bekannte Puppenbauer, Puppenspieler, Regisseur und Darsteller Nikolaus Habjan aus Wien ist – nach seiner begeistert aufgenommenen Werkschau 2016 – erneut zu Gast in Leipzig: Am Schauspiel Graz inszenierte er das Stück »Böhm«, das sich Karl Böhm, einem der wichtigsten Dirigenten des 20. Jahrhunderts, widmet. Nikolaus Habjan spielt das große Solo gemeinsam mit zahlreichen Puppen. Hinzu kommt sein humorvolles Kunstpfeifkonzert »Ich pfeife auf die Oper« mit Arien aus Opern und Operetten, in dem er die barocke Kunst des Kunstpfeifens neu belebt und damit bereits in großen Theatern und Konzertsälen, z. B. in Wien, Salzburg und München, bejubelt wurde.

Der Tanz ist üppig vertreten: Nono Battesti, Brüssel, mischt mitreißende Tanzduette mit Jazzsongs, Gianfranco Celestino & Annalisa Derossi, Luxemburg, zeigen sich sowohl als Tänzer als auch als Pianisten, und Ferenc Fehér aus Budapest gastiert mit einem suggestiven Tanzstück.

Sprechtheater kommt aus London: Zu A-cappella-Gesang begibt sich die Compagnie Erratica mit dem Stück »Remnants« (»Überreste«) von Patrick Eakin Young in historische Abgründe. Und »Die Schachnovelle« (nach der berühmten Novelle von Stefan Zweig) ist in einer szenischen Version von Geirun Tino mit dem Pygmalion Theater Wien zu sehen.

Zwei Gastspiele aus Frankreich runden das Festivalprogramm ab: Das zauberhafte Kinderstück »Une histoire de la musique« (»Eine Musikgeschichte«) der Compagnie zOrozora aus Grenoble führt mit drei Musiker-Darstellern quer durch die Jahrhunderte. Und der Choreograf Pierre Rigal aus Toulouse zeigt sein Tanzstück »Scandale« (»Stolperfallen») mit temporeichen Hip-Hop-Elementen als Festivalabschluss. Filme, Publikumsgespräche und ein Workshop ergänzen die Gastspiele.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen sowie zahlreiche Vertretungen der Gastspielländer und Partner. Kulturpartner sind MDR Kultur und ARTE.

Der Kartenverkauf beginnt am 29.09.2018.



Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festivaldirektorin
Leipzig, 05.07.2018


Informationen und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Künstlerischer Beirat:

Im Jahr 1995 wurde ein künstlerischer Beirat gegründet, dem international bekannte Fachleute für zeitgenössisches Theater und Tanz angehören. Die Mitglieder üben beratende Funktion bei der Programmgestaltung aus und vertreten das Festival auf internationaler Ebene. Der Beirat besteht aktuell aus folgenden Kollegen:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Künstlerische Leiterin – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rektor – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden
\ Tilmann Broszat,
  Künstlerischer Leiter – SPIELART Festival, München
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Fachberater – internationale tanzmesse nrw, Düsseldorf