27th Festival 2017


Main programme

Thursday 09. Nov. // 10.00 – 11.00 p.m.

From 14 years

Friday 10. Nov. // 10.00 – 11.00 p.m.

 

LOFFT – Das Theater

€ 22.00 (red. € 17.00)


Ola Maciejewska, Katowice / Paris

 
POLAND / FRANCE


»Bombyx mori« 

(»Silkworm«)  VIDEO CLIP  

Dance piece based on Loïe Fuller

German première



Conception and choreography:

 

Ola Maciejewska

Music:

Alberto Novello

Costumes:

Valentine Solé

Lighting design:

Rima Ben Brahim

Dancers:

Ola Maciejewska, Amaranta Velarde Gonzalez, Maciej Sado


Following both performances: audience discussion
Presentation: Christian Watty, Consultant internationale tanzmesse nrw, Düsseldorf




The butterfly »silk moth« (Latin: bombyx mori) served as a model for a spectacular dance costume: the American dancer Loïe Fuller (1862-1928) invented it for her »serpentine dance«, with which she entered into dance history. She danced in New York, Paris and London, was the first to work with electric lighting and coloured projections on stage and a part of the Jugendstil movement. Auguste Rodin, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec and Stéphane Mallarmé were all influenced by this dancer.

The Polish choreographer Ola Maciejewska, born in Rybnik near Katowice in 1984, was inspired by Loïe Fuller. Initially, she created the solo »Research« (2011), in which she gave rise to sculptural forms with costumes and dance. This mostly improvised solo was usually presented in exhibition spaces.

In »Bombyx mori«, these parameters are developed further: Three dancers multiply the minimalist synthesis of bodies, material and sound; the noise of the fabric plays a major role. Three black »serpentine butterflies« by Loïe Fuller are emerged from the larvae and returned transformed. The piece has been seen in Paris, Brussels and Vienna.

Ola Maciejewska received a theatre and dance education in Warsaw, Rotterdam and Utrecht. She worked as a dancer and performer with the choreographers Bruno Listopad and Philippe Quesne. Her first own choreography »Tekton« had its world première in Geneva in 2014. Since 2016, she has been »artiste associée« at the Centre chorégraphique national de Caen in northern France.



World première: 20.11.2015, La Ménagerie de Verre, Paris

Contact: www.olamaciejewska.carbonmade.com

Production: So we might as well dance, Paris

Co-Production: La Ménagerie de Verre / Le CN D, un centre d'art pour la danse, Paris / Productiehuis Rotterdam / Veem House for performance, Amsterdam / Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie

The guest play in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of Polnisches Institut Berlin – Filiale Leipzig and Institut français, Berlin & Französisches Ministerium für Kultur – DGCA, Paris.

27. Festival 2017

Hauptprogramm

Donnerstag 09. Nov. // 22.00 – 23.00 Uhr

Ab 14 Jahre

Freitag 10. Nov. // 22.00 – 23.00 Uhr

 

LOFFT – Das Theater

22,00 € (erm. 17,00 €)


Ola Maciejewska, Katowice / Paris

 
POLEN / FRANKREICH


»Bombyx mori« 

(»Seidenspinner«)  VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Tanzstück nach Loïe Fuller

Deutschlandpremiere



Konzeption und Choreografie:

 

Ola Maciejewska

Musik:

Alberto Novello

Kostüme:

Valentine Solé

Lichtdesign:

Rima Ben Brahim

Tänzer:

Ola Maciejewska, Amaranta Velarde Gonzalez, Maciej Sado


Im Anschluss an beide Vorstellungen findet ein Publikumsgespräch statt.
Moderation: Christian Watty, Fachberater internationale tanzmesse nrw, Düsseldorf




Der Schmetterling »Seidenspinner« (lateinisch: Bombyx mori) diente als Vorlage für ein spektakuläres Tanzkostüm: Die amerikanische Tänzerin Loïe Fuller (1862-1928) erfand es für ihren »Serpentine dance«, mit dem sie in die Tanzgeschichte einging. Sie tanzte in New York, Paris und London, arbeitete als erste mit elektrischem Licht und farbigen Projektionen auf der Bühne und war Teil der Jugendstil-Bewegung. Auguste Rodin, Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec und Stéphane Mallarmé wurden durch diese Tänzerin beeinflusst.

Die polnische Choreografin Ola Maciejewska, geboren 1984 in Rybnik bei Katowice, ließ sich von Loïe Fuller inspirieren. Zunächst schuf sie das Solo »Research« (»Forschung«, 2011), in dem sie durch Kostüm und Tanz plastische Formen entstehen ließ. Gezeigt wurde das zumeist improvisierte Solo vor allem in Ausstellungsräumen.

In »Bombyx mori« werden diese Parameter weiterentwickelt: Drei Tänzer vervielfachen die minimalistische Synthese aus Körper, Material und Klang, das Geräusch des Stoffes spielt eine Hauptrolle. Drei schwarze »Serpentinen-Schmetterlinge« von Loïe Fuller sind aus den Larven geschlüpft und in verwandelter Form zurückgekehrt. Das Stück war bisher in Paris, Brüssel und Wien zu sehen.

Ola Maciejewska erhielt eine Theater- und Tanzausbildung in Warschau, Rotterdam und Utrecht. Sie arbeitete als Tänzerin und Performerin mit den Choreografen Bruno Listopad und Philippe Quesne. Ihre erste eigene Choreografie »Tekton« wurde 2014 in Genf uraufgeführt. Seit 2016 ist sie »artiste associée« am Centre chorégraphique national de Caen in Nordfrankreich.



Uraufführung: 20.11.2015, La Ménagerie de Verre, Paris

Kontakt: www.olamaciejewska.carbonmade.com

Produktion: So we might as well dance, Paris

Koproduktion: La Ménagerie de Verre / Le CN D, un centre d'art pour la danse, Paris / Productiehuis Rotterdam / Veem House for performance, Amsterdam / Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Polnisches Institut Berlin – Filiale Leipzig und Institut français, Berlin & Französisches Ministerium für Kultur – DGCA, Paris.