24th Festival 2014

Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

24th Festival of contemporary European Theatre


04. – 09. November 2014


»Transit«


Theatre and dance from the old and the new Europe

Under the patronage of Burkhard Jung,
    lord mayor of the city of Leipzig





Opening night 2014
»tauberbach«
les ballets C de la B, Gent & Münchner Kammerspiele
Dance piece by Alain Platel



In transit

euro-scene Leipzig festival shows theatre and dance from throughout Europe


This year, euro-scene Leipzig will take place from 04. – 09. November 2014 for the 24th time. The festival of contemporary European theatre and dance will show 12 guest plays from 8 countries in 23 presentations and 8 venues, among them 5 German premières. The spectrum includes dance and spoken theatre, performances, musical stage forms and a play for children. The festival enjoys the patronage of Burkhard Jung, lord mayor of the city of Leipzig. The programme selection lies in the hands of festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

This time, the festival’s motto is »Transit«. This metaphor implies the possibility of making one’s own decisions in both directions, its freedom, but also its burden. »The motto also stands for travelling through, restlessness and inner labyrinths. Furthermore, situations of upheaval in countries and societies as well as the transition between life and death play a role«, says festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. And finally, other »transit rooms«, namely those between theatre and dance, visual art and music, have become a tradition of euro-scene Leipzig in the meantime.

Alain Platel, one of the most important choreographers and directors of our time, has already been a guest in Leipzig several times. Now he will open the festival with the dance piece »tauberbach«, a coproduction of his company les ballets C de la B, Ghent, and the Münchner Kammerspiele. It is about the poorest in society, living at the margin of civilisation, who nonetheless uphold their human dignity. A key component here is the music by Johann Sebastian Bach.

Dance will also be represented by the Ballet national de Marseille showing two very different handwritings: The both fascinating and yet disturbing »Élégie« by Olivier Dubois and the opulent dance opera »Orphée et Eurydice« by Frédéric Flamand. It was created based on the opera »Orpheus and Eurydice« by Christoph Willibald Gluck whose 300th birthday also provided the occasion for the festival`s final night.

The focus on Eastern Europe lies on the Puppet theatre Plovdiv and its theatre play »Vgrajdane« («Immured«) this time, which Veselka Kuncheva has staged intriguingly based on an ancient Bulgarian legend, the Albanian dance theatre, Tirana, with two dance pieces by Gjergj Prevazi, and the Aerites dance company, Athens, with a choreography by Patricia Apergi.

The aesthetic variety of euro-scene Leipzig is again broadly diversified: Familie Flöz from Berlin was the audience’s darling in 2012 and will show its mask theatre piece »Hotel Paradiso« this time. Fresh and bold performances will be shown by the Swiss Martin Schick and the Swedish Björn Säfsten. And finally, Berndt Stübner and Werner Stiefel from Leipzig take up the tradition of children’s theatre with »Der Fischer und seine Frau« («The fisherman and his wife«).

For the second time will euro-scene Leipzig be the partner of a world premiere at the Schauspiel Leipzig within the »Artists in Residence« series: Anna Natt from Berlin was selected with her performance »Der Dybbuk« («The Dybbuk«). In a reflection of the festival motto, the Schauspiel Leipzig will, furthermore, show the »Wolokolamsker Chaussee I-V« by Heiner Müller, staged by Philipp Preuss.

euro-scene Leipzig is financed by the city of Leipzig and the Culture Foundation of the Free State of Saxony as well as by numerous foundations, cultural institutions and partners. Cultural and media partners are: MDR Figaro, ARTE, info tv Leipzig and der Freitag.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festival Director
Leipzig, 24.09.2014


Tickets:
Festival ticket office at the Englandladen, Gottschedestraße 12, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
Tel. +49-(0)341-215 49 35 / tickets@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de/tickets


Information and contact:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de

24. Festival 2014

Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

24. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters


04. Nov. – 09. Nov. 2014


»Transit«


Theater und Tanz aus dem alten und neuen Europa

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Burkhard Jung,
    Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig





Festivaleröffnung 2014
»tauberbach«
les ballets C de la B, Gent & Münchner Kammerspiele
Tanzstück von Alain Platel



Auf der Durchreise

Festival euro-scene Leipzig zeigt Theater und Tanz aus ganz Europa


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 04. – 09. November 2014 zum 24. Mal statt. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes zeigt 12 Gastspiele aus 8 Ländern in 23 Vorstellungen und 8 Spielstätten, darunter 5 Deutschlandpremieren. Das Spektrum umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater, Performances, musikalische Bühnenformen und ein Stück für Kinder. Die Schirmherrschaft übernahm Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig. Die Programmauswahl liegt in den Händen von Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

Das Festival steht diesmal unter dem Motto »Transit«. Diese Metapher beinhaltet die Möglichkeit der eigenen Entscheidung nach beiden Richtungen, deren Freiheit, aber auch deren Last. »Das Motto bedeutet auch Durchreise, Rastlosigkeit, innere Labyrinthe. Zudem spielen der Umbruch in Ländern und Gesellschaften sowie der Übergang zwischen Leben und Tod eine Rolle«, so Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. Und schließlich sind andere »Transiträume«, nämlich die zwischen Theater und Tanz, zwischen Bildender Kunst und Musik bei der euro-scene Leipzig inzwischen Tradition.

Alain Platel, einer der bedeutendsten Choreografen und Regisseure unserer Zeit, war schon mehrfach in Leipzig zu Gast. Jetzt zeigt er als Festivaleröffnung das Tanzstück »tauberbach«, eine Koproduktion seiner Compagnie les ballets C de la B, Gent, und der Münchner Kammerspiele. Es handelt von den Ärmsten der Gesellschaft, die sich im zivilisatorischem Abseits dennoch ihre menschliche Würde bewahren. Ein tragendes Element ist dabei Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach.

Der Tanz wird außerdem vertreten durch das Ballet national de Marseille, das zwei ganz unterschiedliche Handschriften zeigt: Die verstörend-faszinierende »Élégie« von Olivier Dubois und die opulente Tanzoper »Orphée et Euridyce« von Frédéric Flamand. Diese entstand nach der Oper »Orpheus und Eurydike« von Christoph Willibald Gluck, dessen 300. Geburtstag auch einen Anlass für diesen Festivalabschluss gab.

Der Schwerpunkt Osteuropa liegt diesmal beim Puppentheater Plovdiv und dessen Theaterstück »Vgrajdane« (»Die Eingemauerte«), das Veselka Kuncheva nach einer alten bulgarischen Legende faszinierend inszenierte, dem Albanian dance theatre, Tirana, mit zwei Tanzstücken von Gjergj Prevazi und der Aerites dance company, Athen, mit einer Choreografie von Patricia Apergi.

Die ästhetische Vielfalt der euro-scene Leipzig ist wie immer breit gefächert: Familie Flöz aus Berlin war Publikumsliebling 2012 und zeigt diesmal ihr Maskentheater »Hotel Paradiso«. Frech-frische Performances gibt es von dem Schweizer Martin Schick und dem Schweden Björn Säfsten zu sehen. Und schließlich greifen die Leipziger Berndt Stübner und Werner Stiefel die Tradition des Kinderstücks mit »Der Fischer und seine Frau« auf.

Die euro-scene Leipzig ist zum zweiten Mal Partner des Schauspiel Leipzig für eine Uraufführung innerhalb der Reihe »Artists in Residence«: Ausgewählt wurde Anna Natt aus Berlin mit ihrer Performance »Der Dybbuk«. Außerdem zeigt das Schauspiel Leipzig, passend zum Festivalmotto, die »Wolokolamsker Chaussee I-V« von Heiner Müller, inszeniert von Philipp Preuss.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen sowie zahlreiche Stiftungen, Kulturinstitutionen und Partner. Kultur- und Medienpartner sind MDR Figaro, ARTE, info tv Leipzig und der Freitag.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festivaldirektorin
Leipzig, 24.09.2014


Karten:
Festivalkasse im Englandladen, Gottschedestraße 12, 04109 Leipzig
Tel. +49-(0)341-215 49 35 / tickets@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de/tickets


Infos und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig,
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de