23rd Festival 2013

Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

23rd Festival of contemporary European Theatre


05. – 10. November 2013


»Schwarze Milch«

(»Black milk«)


Theatre and dance from the old and the new Europe

Under the patronage of Burkhard Jung,
    Lord Mayor of the city of Leipzig





Festival opening 2013
»Le sacre du printemps« (»The rite of spring«) // Three dance pieces based on Igor Stravinsky with choreographies by David Wampach // Tero Saarinen // Georges Momboye



Milk becomes black

Festival euro-scene Leipzig shows theatre and dance from all over Europe


The euro-scene Leipzig will take place for the 23rd time from 05-10 November 2013. The festival of contemporary European theatre and dance will show 12 evenings of guest performances from 11 countries in 24 presentations and 8 venues. The spectrum includes dance and spoken theatre, performances, musical stage forms and a play for children. The festival enjoys the patronage of Burkhard Jung, lord mayor of the city of Leipzig. The programme selection lies in the hands of festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

This year, the festival's motto is »Schwarze Milch« (»Black milk«). This metaphor comes from the play of the same name by Latvian director Alvis Hermanis from Riga, which will be one of the festival guest performances this year. It deals with the loss of rural identity and the dangers of globalisation. »But the motto also functions as a synonym for collapse and decay, beginning and ending, for the changing of perspective over the course of our lives«, says festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

A focus of the festival is dedicated to the ballet »Le sacre du printemps« (»The rite of spring«) by Igor Strawinsky, the most important dance piece of the 20th century. Its world première in 1913 in Paris caused a scandal exactly 100 years ago. For this year's festival opening, euro-scene Leipzig will present work from three of the most innovative choreographers today: David Wampach, Montpellier, Tero Saarinen, Helsinki and Georges Momboye, Paris. In addition, a dance piece by Christine Gaigg, Vienna, will be presented. It combines choreographic elements from Vaslav Nijinsky, the choreographer of the première, with the artistic activities of Pussy Riot in Moscow 2012, thus bringing the work into the present.

Eastern Europe continues to be represented by two pieces of choreography from Prague by Andrea Miltnerová and Compagnie Nanohach as well as the performance »Forecasting« by Barbara Matijević & Giuseppe Chico from Zagreb / Bari. An unusual contribution comes from Switzerland: CapriConnection & Schola Cantorum Basiliensis will present the music theatre piece »Ars vivendi«, directed by Anna-Sophie Mahler, who made a name for herself as the assistant of Christoph Marthaler in Bayreuth. A magical children's play, »Il giardino di Gaia« (»Gaia's Garden«), will also be presented by Teatro Pan, Lugano. Finally, Israel Galván, Sevilla, one of the best flamenco dancers of our time, will close the festival with a guest performance of the dance piece »La curva« (»The curve«).

The euro-scene Leipzig has formed a close partnership with Schauspiel Leipzig under its new artistic director Enrico Lübbe. This will result in the presentation of a co-production with the choreographer Constanza Macras, Berlin. The piece »Rechnitz (Der Würgeengel)« (»Rechnitz (The exterminating angel)«) by Elfriede Jelinek and directed by Enrico Lübbe will have its première during euro-scene Leipzig. The piece deals with the massacre in Rechnitz / Austria in 1945 and is to be understood as a parallel to the festival motto black milk. The poem »Todesfuge« (»Death fugue«, 1944/45) by the German-Romanian author Paul Celan and its verse »Black milk at dawn« that has always been controversially discussed as »poetry of the Holocaust« also provides associations with the motto.

The popular competition »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« (»Best German dance solo«), in the conception by the renowned Flemish choreographer Alain Platel, Ghent, will be held for the 11th time.

The euro-scene Leipzig is financed from funds of the city of Leipzig and the Free State of Saxony. Partners are InterCityHotel Leipzig, Verbundnetz Gas AG, Leipzig, and cultural institutions as well as foundations. Cultural and media partners are MDR Figaro, ARTE, info tv Leipzig and der Freitag.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festival Director
Leipzig, 25.09.2013



Information and contact:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de

23. Festival 2013

Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

23. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters


05. Nov. – 10. Nov. 2013


»Schwarze Milch«


Theater und Tanz aus dem alten und neuen Europa

Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Burkhard Jung,
    Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig





Festivaleröffnung 2013
»Le sacre du printemps« (»Das Frühlingsopfer«) // Drei Tanzstücke nach Igor Strawinsky mit Choreografien von David Wampach // Tero Saarinen // Georges Momboye



Milch wird schwarz

Festival euro-scene Leipzig zeigt Theater und Tanz aus ganz Europa


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 05. – 10. November 2013 zum 23. Mal statt. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes zeigt 12 Gastspielabende aus 11 Ländern in 24 Vorstellungen und 8 Spielstätten. Das Spektrum umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater, Performances, musikalische Bühnenformen und ein Stück für Kinder. Die Schirmherrschaft übernahm Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig. Die Programmauswahl liegt in den Händen von Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

Das Festival steht diesmal unter dem Motto »Schwarze Milch«. Diese Metapher fußt auf dem gleichnamigen Theaterstück des lettischen Regisseurs Alvis Hermanis aus Riga, das zu den diesjährigen Festivalgastspielen gehört. Es handelt von dem Verlust ländlicher Identität und den Gefahren der Globalisierung. »Das Motto steht aber auch als Synonym für Niedergang und Zerfall, Werden und Vergehen, für das Wechseln von Perspektiven im Laufe unseres Lebens«, so Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

Ein Schwerpunkt des Festivals widmet sich dem Ballett »Le sacre du printemps« (»Das Frühlingsopfer«) von Igor Strawinsky, dem wichtigsten Tanzstück des 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Uraufführung 1913 in Paris vor genau 100 Jahren rief damals einen Skandal hervor. Die euro-scene Leipzig koppelt als diesjährige Festivaleröffnung drei der momentan innovativsten Choreografien dieses Werks von David Wampach, Montpellier, Tero Saarinen, Helsinki, und Georges Momboye, Paris. Weiterhin wird ein Tanzstück von Christine Gaigg, Wien, gezeigt. Dieses verbindet choreografische Elemente von Vaslav Nijinsky, dem Choreografen der Uraufführung, mit der Kunstaktion von Pussy Riot in Moskau 2012 und führt das Werk damit in die Gegenwart.

Osteuropa ist weiterhin vertreten durch zwei Choreografien aus Prag von Andrea Miltnerová und der Compagnie Nanohach sowie die Performance »Forecasting« (»Vorhersage«) von Barbara Matijevic & Giuseppe Chico aus Zagreb / Bari. Ein ungewöhnlicher Beitrag kommt aus der Schweiz: CapriConnection & Schola Cantorum Basiliensis zeigen das Musiktheater »Ars vivendi«, inszeniert von Anna-Sophie Mahler, die sich als Assistentin von Christoph Marthaler in Bayreuth einen Namen machte. Hinzu kommt das zauberhafte Kinderstück »Il giardino di Gaia« (»Gaias Garten«) mit dem Teatro Pan, Lugano. Und schließlich gastiert Israel Galván, Sevilla, einer der besten Flamencotänzer unserer Zeit, mit dem Tanzstück »La curva« (»Die Kurve«) als Festivalabschluss.

Mit dem Schauspiel Leipzig verbindet die euro-scene Leipzig unter dessen neuem Intendanten Enrico Lübbe eine enge Partnerschaft. So wird eine gemeinsame Koproduktion der Choreografin Constanza Macras, Berlin, uraufgeführt. Und das Stück »Rechnitz (Der Würgeengel)« von Elfriede Jelinek, inszeniert von Enrico Lübbe, hat innerhalb der euro-scene Leipzig Premiere. Das Stück thematisiert das Massaker im österreichischen Rechnitz 1945 und ist als Bezug zum Festivalmotto »Schwarze Milch« zu verstehen. Auch das Gedicht »Todesfuge« (1944/45) des deutsch-rumänischen Schriftstellers Paul Celan, dessen Vers »Schwarze Milch in der Frühe« mit seiner »Poesie des Holocaust« schon immer kontrovers diskutiert wurde, dient dem Motto für Assoziationen.

Der beliebte Wettbewerb »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« wird, nach einer Konzeption des bekannten flämischen Choreografen von Alain Platel, Gent, zum 11. Mal veranstaltet.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und den Freistaat Sachsen. Partner sind das InterCityHotel Leipzig, Verbundnetz Gas AG, Leipzig, sowie Kulturinstitutionen und Stiftungen. Kultur- und Medienpartner sind MDR Figaro, ARTE, info tv Leipzig und der Freitag.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festivaldirektorin
Leipzig, 25.09.2013



Infos und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig,
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de