18th Festival 2008

Conception


»Taumelnd auf glatter See«
(»Floundering on a calm sea«)

Theatre and dance from the old and new Europe

04. – 09. November 2008


The euro-scene Leipzig will take place from 04 to 09 November 2008 for the 18th time. Under the motto »Taumelnd auf glatter See« (»Floundering on a calm sea«), the festival is dedicated to the opposite of a smooth surface and to the disasters concealed beneath – whether in the psychological or the social domain. Planned are 12 guest plays from 8 countries in 22 performances and 9 theatre venues. The festival is under the patronage of Burkhard Jung, Lord Mayor of the city of Leipzig.

»Calm water can be both idyllic and, at the same time, eerie and frightening. Our existence is determined by overplayed uncertainties, tensely safeguarding the pretence of beauty and the increasingly hectic search for purpose in life. The festival this year aims to sensitise the audience to its floundering and provide courage to admit weakness. The black ice of existence embodies both the glistening facade and the latent risk of breaking,« says festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. The spectrum of productions includes dance and spoken theatre as well as intermediate areas of performance art and musical stage forms.

For the first time, the festival is presenting an artist with a work show: Josef Nadj, one of Europe’s leading choreographers, comes from the former Yugoslavia. He has been in charge of the Centre chorégraphique national in Orléans for a number of years and will be opening the euro-scene Leipzig with the German premiere of his latest piece, »Entracte« (»Interval«), in the Peterskirche (St Peter’s Church). In addition, his wonderfully bizarre productions of »Woyzeck« and »Journal d’un inconnu« (»Diary of an unknown«), films and an exhibition will be on show.

Another festival highlight will be the new dance play by Alain Platel, who has been repeated guest of the euro-scene Leipzig. With his company Les Ballets C. de la B., Ghent, he will show »pitié!« (»Have mercy!«) based on Bach's »Matthäuspassion« (»St Matthew Passion«). Next to German premieres from Budapest, Athens and the Bulgarian Haskovo, there will be a reunion with the Orphtheater, Berlin, and a sweeping HipHop-dance play by the company E-Motion, Düsseldorf.

Tilmann Broszat, artistic director of the festival SPIELART, Munich, accepts the carte blanche for 2008. Since 2006 an annually changing member of the advisory council of the euro-scene Leipzig chooses a guest play.



Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

Leipzig, 24.06.2008

18. Festival 2008

Konzeption


»Taumelnd auf glatter See«

Theater und Tanz aus dem alten und neuen Europa

04. – 09. November 2008


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 04. – 09. November 2008 zum 18. Mal statt. Unter dem Motto »Taumelnd auf glatter See« widmet sich das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters dem Gegensatz von glatter Oberfläche und sich dahinter verbergenden Katastrophen, sei es im psychologischen oder gesellschaftlichen Bereich. Vorgesehen sind 12 Gastspiele aus 8 Ländern in 22 Vorstellungen und 9 Spielstätten. Die Schirmherrschaft übernahm Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig.

»Ein ruhiges Gewässer wirkt so idyllisch wie auch unheimlich und beängstigend. Überspielte Unsicherheiten, verkrampfte Wahrung des schönen Scheins und die immer hektischer werdende Suche nach Lebensinhalt bestimmen unser Dasein. Das diesjährige Festival will sensibilisieren für den Taumel und Mut machen zum Eingeständnis von Schwäche. Das Glatteis des Daseins beinhaltet die glitzernde Fassade ebenso wie die latente Gefahr des Durchbrechens«, so Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. Die Bandbreite der Produktionen umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater sowie Zwischenbereiche performativer Kunst und musikalischer Bühnenformen.

Erstmals stellt das Festival einen Künstler mit einer Werkschau vor: Josef Nadj, einer der bedeutendsten Choreografen Europas, stammt aus Ex-Jugoslawien. Er leitet seit Jahren das Centre chorégraphique national d’Orléans und wird die euro-scene Leipzig mit der Deutschlandpremiere seines neuesten Stücks »Entracte« (»Pause«) in der Peterskirche eröffnen. Außerdem sind seine wunderbar skurrilen Produktionen »Woyzeck« und »Journal d’un inconnu« (»Tagebuch eines Unbekannten«) sowie Filme und eine Ausstellung zu sehen.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt des Festivals ist das neue Tanzstück von Alain Platel, der bereits mehrfach Gast der euro-scene Leipzig war. Mit seiner Compagnie Les Ballets C. de la B., Gent, zeigt er »pitié!« (»Erbarme Dich!«) nach Bachs »Matthäuspassion«. Neben Deutschlandpremieren aus Budapest, Athen und dem bulgarischen Haskovo gibt es ein Wiedersehen mit dem Orphtheater, Berlin, sowie ein mitreißendes HipHop-Tanzstück der Compagnie E-Motion, Düsseldorf.

Tilmann Broszat, künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals SPIELART, München, übernimmt die Carte blanche 2008. Ein Mitglied des künstlerischen Beirats der euro-scene Leipzig wählt seit 2006 jeweils ein Gastspiel aus.



Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin

Leipzig, 24.06.2008