9th Festival 1999

Conception


»Das neue Jahrtausend im Blick«

(»The New Millenium in View«)

2 – 7 November 1999


(Preface to the printed programme – including conception of the festival)


Time, it is a strange thing


»The time is out of joint. O cursed spite,
That ever I was born to set it right!«

      William Shakespeare »Hamlet« (Act I, Scene V)


»Time is the horizon of existence.«

      Martin Heidegger


»Not time, but the moment as that in time which does not belong to it, communicates with eternity, in which alone perfect joy has its measure.«

      Ernst Bloch


»Time is a remarkable thing. First we are heedless, it is as nothing! Then suddenly we feel nothing else. It is all around us, our souls are filled with it, our faces shows it, the mirror shows it - all my veins feel its throbbing and there, between you and me - it flows in silence, trickling like sands in the hourglass. Sometimes I arise at the dead of night and take the clocks and stop them every one.«

      Hugo von Hofmannsthal, »Der Rosenkavalier« (»The knight of the rose«)


I. The 9th euro-scene Leipzig – a time to catch our breath before the jubilee in the year 2000? Hardly! The millennium is rushing towards its end, and thoughts are revolving more than usual around being and the progress of time. The utopias that have always been connected to the 21st century are becoming unusable, and it is certain that we will not effect any sudden changes in ourselves. But new visions come into existence, and theater is always one of the places where they see the light of day.

This festival programme was born under the burden, but also under the desire, of the high demands that this millennium year brings with it: a brilliant, wordless »Faust«; two jewels among the greats of European theater; three areas of concentration (Oscar Wilde's »Salomé«, Lyon as Leipzig's partner city, and theater in »Live Art« style); for the first time a prologue; for the third time the competition »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« (»The Best German dance solo«); an extensive fringe programme; altogether seven German premieres; 15 different productions; 30 performances – thus no mention of a time to catch our breath.

II. Theater time: There are pieces that already seem old when they come on stage (these we of course do not invite), and there are others that radiate a sense of the times despite their age (these we invite). Two of the latter are featured as the opening and closing pieces: an overwhelming »Phaedra« by the Romanian director Silviu Purcarete and »May B« by Maguy Marin from Lyon, one of the most performed dance productions of Europe.

Lifetime – stage time: The young generation plays itself in a crazy, yearning, hectic and absurd world – »Live Art«, in which stage and life are one. Oscar Wilde preserves the classical unity of time and place in his steamily erotic drama; by contrast, »Faust« hurries through an entire life in a presentation length of 75 minutes.

III. euro-scene Leipzig, which has become one of the most important avant-garde theater festivals of Europe, is already in the middle of preparations for the year 2000 jubilee. Our tiny team will hopefully preserve its strength for it: Beate Fischer and Helga Müller have been busily at work for a long time; for about the last year their work has been gratifyingly enriched by the wonderful artistic collaboration of Michael Freundt and the sensitive technical direction of Bernd Gengelbach.

I express my sincere thanks to all who have made this euro-scene Leipzig possible and wish our audience a terrific festival.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

09. Festival 1999

Konzeption


»Das neue Jahrtausend im Blick«

02. – 07. November 1999


(Vorwort zum Programmheft – mit der Konzeption zum Festival)


Die Zeit, die ist ein sonderbar Ding


»Die Zeit ist aus den Fugen; Schmach und Gram,
daß ich zur Welt sie einzurichten kam!«

      William Shakespeare »Hamlet«


»Zeit ist der Horizont des Seins.«

      Martin Heidegger


»Nicht die Zeit, aber der Augenblick als dasjenige
in der Zeit, was nicht zu ihr gehört, kommuniziert mit
der Ewigkeit, in der die vollkommene Freude einzig ihr Maß hat.«

      Ernst Bloch


»Die Zeit, die ist ein sonderbar Ding. Wenn man so
hinlebt, ist sie rein gar nichts. Aber dann auf
einmal, da spürt man nichts als sie. Sie ist um uns
herum, sie ist auch in uns drinnen. In den Gesichtern
rieselt sie, im Spiegel, da rieselt sie, in meinen
Schläfen fließt sie. Und zwischen dir und mir, da
fließt sie wieder, lautlos, wie eine Sanduhr. Manchmal
steh' ich auf mitten in der Nacht und lass' die Uhren
alle, alle stehn ... «

      Hugo von Hofmannsthal »Der Rosenkavalier«


I. Die 9. euro-scene Leipzig – eine Atempause vor dem Jubiläum im Jahr 2000? Ganz im Gegenteil! Das Jahrtausend rast seinem Ende entgegen, und die Gedanken kreisen stärker als sonst um das Dasein und den Lauf der Zeit. Die Utopien, die sich immer mit dem 21. Jahrhundert verbunden haben, werden unbrauchbar, und wir werden uns gewiss nicht plötzlich verändern. Doch neue Visionen entstehen, und Theater ist immer einer der Orte, wo sie das Licht der Welt erblicken.

Dieses Festivalprogramm wurde unter der Last, aber auch der Lust des hohen Anspruchs geboren, den dieses Millennium-Jahr mit sich bringt: Ein brillant-wortloser »Faust«, zwei Edelsteine großen europäischen Theaters, drei Schwerpunktthemen (Oscar Wildes »Salomé«, Lyon als Leipzigs Partnerstadt und Theater im »Live Art«-Stil), erstmals ein Prolog, zum 3. Mal der Wettbewerb »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo«, ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm, insgesamt sieben Deutschlandpremieren, 15 verschiedene Produktionen, 30 Vorstellungen – von Atempause also keine Rede.

II. Theaterzeit: Es gibt Stücke, die kommen schon alt auf die Bühne (die laden wir natürlich nicht ein), und es gibt andere, die versprühen heutiges Zeitempfinden trotz ihrer Jahre (die laden wir ein). Gleich zwei des letzteren gibt's als Eröffnung und Abschluss: eine überwältigende »Phaedra« des rumänischen Regisseurs Silviu Purcarete und »May B« von Maguy Marin aus Lyon, eine der meistgespielten Tanzproduktionen Europas.

Lebenszeit – Bühnenzeit: Die junge Generation spielt sich selbst in einer verrückten, sehnsuchtsvollen, hektischen und absurden Welt – »Live Art«, bei der Bühne und Leben eins sind. Oscar Wilde wahrt in seinem schwül-erotischen Drama die klassische Einheit von Zeit und Ort, im Gegenteil dazu: »Faust« durcheilt in 75 Minuten Spieldauer ein ganzes Leben.

III. Die euro-scene Leipzig, inzwischen eines der bedeutendsten Avantgarde-Theaterfestivals Europas, steckt bereits mittendrin in den Vorbereitungen des Jubiläums 2000. Unser winzig kleines Team wird sich dafür hoffentlich die Kraft bewahren: emsig dabei schon seit langem Beate Fischer und Helga Müller, seit etwa einem Jahr durch die wunderbare künstlerische Mitarbeit von Michael Freundt und die einfühlsame technische Beratung von Bernd Gengelbach beglückend bereichert.

Ich danke herzlich allen, die diese euro-scene ermöglichen und wünsche unseren Zuschauern ein tolles Festival.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin