6th Festival 1996

Conception


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

(»Vision Europe – an open door to the stranger«)

19 – 24 November 1996


(Preface to the printed programme – including conception of the festival)


euro-scene Leipzig intentionally by-passes the groomed park lanes of conventional theatre. Instead the festival searches in the thorny bushes of hidden pathways for those artists who, through their powerful individuality, stylistically break new trails and obstinately tackle the predicaments of our times.

Belgium is presently one of the leaders of avant-gardistic theatre, one speaks of a »Nouvelle vague flamande«. In 1992, the choreographer Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker was once already guest of euro-scene Leipzig with her »Rosas dances Rosas«. Now, this year, the completely different directors Jan Fabre and Alain Platel of Flanders will be presented for the first time in eastern Germany.

Alain Platel creates plays of great stylistic variety and of touching humanity. Despite depressive contemporary era references, he conveys hope of a better future in a marvellously relaxed and plain way. While Platel passionately embodies the »street's gracefulness«, Jan Fabre, one of the world-wide most prominent avant-garde directors, challenges via the smouldering glow behind a super-cooled »art world«. The actor star Hannelore Elsner guest appears with him in Leipzig. Tom Stromberg, the former theatre manager of TAT (Theater am Turm) – a theatre that fell victim to a catastrophic austerity measure in Frankfurt/Main – must be thanked for that mutual effort.

Three festival contributions with very different moods and genres from Montpellier, Amsterdam and Lugano devote themselves to the »night« topic. The intensive search for a serious, modern musical met with success in Copenhagen, Europe's Cultural Capital 1996. Eastern Europe is represented with two impressive productions from Budapest and Poznań. And then, for the first time in the new German states, S.O.A.P., the best-known independent German dance company, guest-plays alongside the refreshing Orphtheater from eastern Berlin. Schauspiel Leipzig is also involved with an unusual venue.

News beyond the agenda involve: an extension of the festival's framework, for the first time ever a subscription offer as well as a final party, and lastly a centrally located festival club in the Neue Szene. I herewith wholeheartedly thank not only the public donors and sponsors but also Schauspiel Leipzig and Oper Leipzig for their benevolent support.

The aim of our festival, namely to bring exciting international theatre to Leipzig, corresponds with this city's cosmopolitan attitude; with its university, trade fair, and great cultural tradition embodied in Europe's heartland. That is why I wish all members of the audience thrilling fun days and much enjoyment during euro-scene Leipzig 1996.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

06. Festival 1996

Konzeption


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

19. – 24. November 1996


(Vorwort zum Programmheft – mit der Konzeption zum Festival)


Die euro-scene Leipzig umgeht absichtsvoll die gepflegten Parkwege konventionellen Theaters. Das Festival sucht vielmehr im dornenvollen Gestrüpp versteckter Seitenpfade nach Künstlern, die mit starker Individualität stilistisch neue Wege beschreiten und sich widerborstig mit den Befindlichkeiten unserer Zeit auseinandersetzen.

Belgien ist derzeit eines der führenden Länder des avantgardistischen Theaters, man spricht von einer »Nouvelle vague flamande«. Die Choreografin Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker war mit »Rosas tanzt Rosas« schon 1992 Gast der euro-scene Leipzig. Nun werden in diesem Jahr die beiden äußerst unterschiedlichen Regisseure Jan Fabre und Alain Platel aus Flandern erstmals in Ostdeutschland vorgestellt.

Alain Platel schafft Stücke von großer stilistischer Vielfalt und anrührender Menschlichkeit. Wunderbar gelöst und schlicht vermittelt er trotz depressiver Zeitbezüge auch wieder eine Hoffnung auf die Zukunft. Während Platel glutvoll die »Anmut der Straße« verkörpert, fordert Jan Fabre, einer der weltweit bedeutendsten Avantgarde-Regisseure, durch das Glimmen hinter einer unterkühlten »Kunstwelt« heraus. Mit ihm gastiert der Schauspielstar Hannelore Elsner in Leipzig. Ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Fabre ist Tom Stromberg, dem ehemaligen Intendanten des TAT (Theater am Turm) zu danken, das inzwischen einer katastrophalen Sparmaßnahme der Stadt Frankfurt/Main zum Opfer fiel.

Dem Thema »Nacht« widmen sich drei Festivalbeiträge aus Montpellier, Amsterdam und Lugano, die in Stimmung und Genre sehr unterschiedlich sind. Die intensive Suche nach einem ernsten, modernen Musical hatte in Kopenhagen, der Kulturhauptstadt Europas 1996, Erfolg. Osteuropa wird von zwei sehr eindrucksvollen Produktionen aus Budapest und Poznań vertreten. Und neben dem erfrischenden Orphtheater aus Ostberlin gastiert mit S.O.A.P. die bekannteste freie deutsche Tanzcompagnie erstmals in den neuen Bundesländern. Das Schauspiel Leipzig ist in einer ungewöhnlichen Spielstätte mit dabei.

Die Neuigkeiten über das Programm hinaus: Erweiterung des Rahmenprogramms, erstmals das Angebot eines Abonnements und einer Abschlussparty sowie ein zentral gelegener Festivalclub in der Neuen Szene. Ich danke neben den öffentlichen Geldgebern und den Sponsoren herzlich auch dem Schauspiel Leipzig und der Oper Leipzig für die freundliche Unterstützung.

Das Anliegen unseres Festivals, aufregendes internationales Theater nach Leipzig zu holen, entspricht der Weltoffenheit dieser Stadt mit ihrer Universität, Messe und großen Kulturtradition in der Mitte Europas. Und so wünsche ich allen Zuschauern spannende Erlebnisse und viel Freude bei der euro-scene Leipzig 1996.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin