5th Festival 1995

Conception


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

(»Vision Europe – an open door to the stranger«)

4 – 9 November 1995


(Preface to the printed programme – including conception of the festival)


The theatre is presently one of the few islands on which we can still be individuals – a possibility to escape the media barrage, the constant stream of advertisements pretending material needs, the pestering by the automobile and the destruction of nature, every day hectic. The theatre still provides, as old-fashioned as it may sound, life support – a recollection of ethic values, the courage to be different, supplies a reminder at the acceptance of standards, grants the opportunity to test one's own requirements, time to remember...

Five years ago, euro-scene Leipzig was born out of the idea to open the city of Leipzig – always cosmopolitan and mainly so through its trade fairs and university – to new forms of the European theatre, to participate in the understanding of strange ways of life and cultures, and to broaden one's own views. The festival, the only one for avant-gardistic, professional theatre in Germany's new federal provinces, should be perceived as an addition to the regular theatre offerings and it developed well beyond Leipzig's boundaries into an annual climax of the city's theatre life.

During euro-scene Leipzig fifth year an artistic committee was set up to whom experts of the contemporary theatre belong. They carry out advising functions and inject their national and international knowledge and experience.

In addition, the subtitle »theatre festival of European avant-garde« was changed by reasons of its different interpretation within the various countries. The decisive factor for an invitation is always, apart from the quality and the originality of a production, its avant-gardistic claim. Thereby, of course, does the artistic appeal rest above all in the national differences that may not wholly conform with German viewpoints.

euro-scene Leipzig performs a crucial promotion function for Leipzig as a member of the Brussels-headquartered lnformal European Theatre Meeting. This association is the most important international organisation of Europe's free-lance theatre artists. Stimulated and co-organised by euro-scene Leipzig, IETM hosts in Leipzig at the end of November the first meeting of this kind in Germany's new federal provinces.

I would like to express my wholehearted gratitude not only to the civic supporters but also to our main sponsors, namely the Sparkasse Leipzig and the Stiftung Kulturfonds Berlin, that allowed the festival to take place in its unique form. I also would like to thank Schauspiel Leipzig and the Oper Leipzig – their Intendants Wolfgang Engel and Prof. Udo Zimmermann, their members of the technical support staff as well as all other fellow colleagues – for their cordial support. I wish the public a lot of pleasure with euro-scene Leipzig '95.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

05. Festival 1995

Konzeption


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

04. – 09. November 1995


(Vorwort zum Programmheft – mit der Konzeption zum Festival)


Theater ist heutzutage eine der wenigen Inseln, auf der wir noch ganz Individuum sein können – eine Möglichkeit zum Entkommen aus Medienberieselung, Reklamevorgaukelung materieller Ansprüche, Autobedrängnis und Naturzerstörung, der Hektik des Alltags. Noch immer gibt Theater, so altmodisch das auch klingen mag, Lebenshilfe – Rückbesinnung auf ethische Werte, Mut zum Anderssein, auch Erinnern an die Akzeptanz von Normen, Gelegenheit zur Prüfung persönlicher Situationen...

Die euro-scene Leipzig wurde vor fünf Jahren aus der Idee heraus geboren, die Stadt Leipzig – weltoffen schon immer vor allem durch Messe und Universität – nun auch zu öffnen für neue Formen europäischen Theaters, zum Verständnis fremder Lebensarten und Kulturen beitragend und den eigenen Blick weitend. Das Festival, das einzige für avantgardistisches, professionelles Theater in den neuen Bundesländern, entwickelte sich weit über die Region Leipzigs hinaus zu einem jährlichen Höhepunkt im Theaterleben der Stadt.

lm fünften Jahr der euro-scene Leipzig wurde ein künstlerischer Beirat gegründet, dem bekannte Fachleute für zeitgenössisches Theater angehören. Sie üben beratende Funktion aus und bringen ihre nationalen und internationalen Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen in das Festival ein.

Außerdem wurde der Untertitel »Theaterfestival europäischer Avantgarde« aufgrund des unterschiedlichen Avantgarde-Verständnisses innerhalb der einzelnen Länder geändert. Ausschlaggebend für eine Einladung bleibt neben Qualität und Originalität vor allem der avantgardistische Anspruch an eine Produktion, wobei aber der künstlerische Reiz auch in den nationalen Unterschieden und nicht in der ausschließlich deutschen Sichtweise liegen sollte.

Als Mitglied des Informal European Theatre Meeting, Brüssel, wichtigste internationale Vereinigung und größtes Netzwerk der freien Theaterschaffenden Europas, leistet die euro-scene Leipzig auch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für die Stadt. Durch die euro-scene Leipzig angeregt und mitveranstaltet, findet Ende November in Leipzig das erste Treffen von IETM in den neuen Bundesländern statt.

Herzlich danken möchte ich neben den öffentlichen Geldgebern vor allem unseren Hauptsponsoren, der Sparkasse Leipzig und der Stiftung Kulturfonds Berlin, die das Festival in dieser Form erst ermöglich haben. Ich danke dem Schauspiel Leipzig und der Oper Leipzig – den Intendanten Wolfgang Engel und Pro. Udo Zimmermann, den Technikern und allen anderen Kollegen – für die freundliche Unterstützung und wünsche dem Publikum viel Freude bei der euro-scene Leipzig '95.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin