3rd Festival 1993

Conception


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

(»Vision Europe – an open door to the stranger«)

17 – 21 November 1993


(Preface to the printed programme – including conception of the festival)


It is possible to perceive a peacefully united Europe as a friend. This feeling of »home« can be easily awakened within large spaces. It is possible to make the steady confrontation with the unknown a joyous experience. However such a Europe needs the spiritual foundation upon which an individual's freedom to creative expressions is cemented and which includes congeniality. The theatre festival of European avant-garde euro-scene Leipzig is a fabulous tool to create such climate.

The monster »Man« is within touch – everywhere in Europe. The Balkans are far away –? How far away are the battlefields of World War II? Within recent memory and proximity, really how confined was Monster Man as warden of the socialist jail? Once again Molotov cocktails torch homes in German towns and once again a continent searches for a handy scape-goat.

Let us use the theatre arts to put an end to that horror by means of new/old imaginative visions of human beings living together in a dignified and caring co-existence. Let us wake curiosity of the unknown and strange through dance, music, language, sound and gesture. Let us strengthen the trust in one's own spiritual wealth and let us discover the inexhaustible riches of neighbouring cultures.

The independent festival team of euro-scene Leipzig presents a very carefully selected choice of European theatre avant-garde of the 90's. Special artistic and trail-blazing particularities of their production as well as an overall high quality and professionalism played an important role in the final selection, which was completely independent from the style, structure, or prodigiousness of the companies. The festival concept excludes well-known plays as well as productions with complicated foreign-language texts. The invited productions present that type of aesthetics which moves the audience into discovering its own ways and means of human co-existence.

For the third time the theatre festival of European avant-garde euro-scene Leipzig ‘93 unites productions from eastern, western and central Europe. This year it stands under the motto of »Vision Europe – an open door to the stranger«. In twenty performances it presents nine productions from seven countries.

A harmonious Europe – a step in the right direction through the theatre arts.


Matthias Renner
Festival Director

Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Deputy Festival Director

03. Festival 1993

Konzeption


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

17. – 21. November 1993


(Vorwort zum Programmheft – mit der Konzeption zum Festival)


Ein Europa, wenn in Güte vereint, könnte als vertraut empfunden werden. Und es könnte das Gefühl von »Heimat« auch in weiten Räumen wachrufen. Es ist möglich, die stetige Konfrontation mit dem Unbekannten lustvoll zu gestalten. Solch ein Europa aber wird nur auf einem geistigen Fundament entstehen, das die Freiheit des einzelnen zu schöpferischem Handeln garantiert und Freundlichkeit einschließt. Das Theaterfestival europäischer Avantgarde euro-scene Leipzig ist ein prächtiges Mittel, ein solches Klima zu fördern.

Das Untier Mensch hat uns eingeholt – europaweit. Der Balkan ist fern –? Wie weit entfernt sind die Schauplätze des Zweiten Weltkriegs? Wie gezügelt war die Bestie Mensch als Aufseher im zeitlich und räumlich nahen sozialistischen Gefängnis? Und wieder fliegen Brandflaschen in deutschen Städten und ein Kontinent hält Ausschau nach geeigneten Sündenböcken.

Setzen wir durch Theaterkunst dem Schrecken neue oder neu-alte, phantasiereiche Visionen über menschliches Zusammenleben in Achtung und Zuneigung entgegen. Wecken wir durch Tanz, Musik, Sprache, Klang und Gesten die Neugierde auf das Fremde. Stärken wir das Vertrauen in den eigenen geistigen Reichtum und entdecken wir die Unerschöpflichkeit der Kulturen unserer Nachbarn.

Das unabhängige Festivalteam der euro-scene Leipzig stellt in einer äußerst sorgfältig getroffenen Auswahl europäische Theateravantgarde der 90er Jahre vor. Bei der Entscheidung spielen die besondere, künstlerisch vorwärts weisende Eigenart der Inszenierung sowie hohe Qualität und Professionalität eine wichtige Rolle, unabhängig vom Genre und von dem Bekanntheitsgrad und der Struktur der Compagnie. Bühnenwerke, die bereits klassisch wurden, schließt die Konzeption des Festivals ebenso aus wie Produktionen mit kompliziertem fremdsprachigem Text. In den eingeladenen Inszenierungen wird eine Ästhetik gezeigt, welche die Vorstellungskraft der Zuschauer anregt, auf eigenen Wegen Architekturen des menschlichen Miteinanders zu entwerfen.

Das Theaterfestival europäischer Avantgarde euro-scene Leipzig '93 führt zum dritten Mal Produktionen aus Ost-, Mittel- und Westeuropa zusammen. Es steht unter dem Motto »Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«. In 20 Vorstellungen präsentiert es neun Produktionen aus sieben Ländern.

Ein Europa in Güte – auch durch Theaterkunst kommen wir ihm einen Schritt näher.


Matthias Renner
Festivaldirektor

Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Stellvertretende Festivaldirektorin