27th Festival 2017


Main programme

Saturday 11. Nov. // 7.30 – 9.15 p.m.

From 16 years

Sunday 12. Nov. // 7.30 – 9.15 p.m. / final night

 

Schauspielhaus / Hinterbühne

€ 24.00 (red. € 19.00)


CAMPO & IIPM / Milo Rau, Ghent

 
BELGIUM


»Five easy pieces« VIDEO CLIP  

Theatre play



Conception, text and staging:

Milo Rau

Scenery and Costumes:

Anton Lukas

Video:

Sam Verhaert

Dramaturgy:

Stefan Bläske

Actor:

Hendrik Van Doorn

Children actors:

Rachel Dedain, Polly Persyn, Elle Liza Tayou, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Winne Vanacker


In Flemish language with German subtitles




Seven children are sitting throughout the room. They are between the ages of 9 and 14, and they are allowed to select their roles. »Theatre is pretending as though you are old even though you are young«, says one child, »theatre is like puppet theatre, but with people«. A theatre piece is rehearsed in which the life of the Belgian child murderer Marc Dutroux is re-enacted. In 2004, he was sentenced to life in prison.

The play »Five easy pieces« highlights crimes that are abstracted with the aesthetics of documentary theatre. The strongest and almost ghostly alienating effect is that children play adults and switch between rehearsal situations and characters in roles. Questions also include fears, hopes and taboos in general. The soberness, the disruptions and the children’s performance are breathtaking.

The title of the piece is a reference to the piano pieces of the same name: »Cinq pièces faciles« by Igor Stravinsky that he wrote for his children. »Five easy pieces« belongs to the most unusual and most invited productions in recent times. In 2017 the play received the award »Staging of the year« and will be shown in 30 countries over the next two years.

Milo Rau, born in Bern in 1977, is a director, playwriter, essayist and scholar. He has published over 50 pieces, films and books and is one of the most important directors in the European theatre business. Political issues and documentary reappraisals are his trademark.



World première: 14.05.2016, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brüssel

Contact: www.campo.nu

Production: CAMPO & IIPM, Ghent

Co-Production: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brussels / Münchner Kammerspiele / La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Genf / Kaserne Basel / Gessnerallee Zürich / Singapore International Festival of Arts (SIFA) / SICK! Festival, Manchester & Brighton / Sophiensaele Berlin / Le phénix – scène nationale Valenciennes, pôle européen de création

The guest play in Leipzig will take place with the kind support of the Flemish Government, Berlin.

27. Festival 2017

Hauptprogramm

Samstag 11. Nov. // 19.30 – 21.15 Uhr

Ab 16 Jahre

Sonntag 12. Nov. // 19.30 – 21.15 Uhr / Festivalabschluss

 

Schauspielhaus / Hinterbühne

24,00 € (erm. 19,00 €)


CAMPO & IIPM / Milo Rau, Gent

 
BELGIEN


»Five easy pieces« 
(»Fünf einfache Übungen«) VIDEOAUSSCHNITT  

Theaterstück



Konzeption, Text und Inszenierung:

Milo Rau

Bühnenbild und Kostüme:

Anton Lukas

Video:

Sam Verhaert

Dramaturgie:

Stefan Bläske

Darsteller:

Hendrik Van Doorn

Kinderdarsteller:

Rachel Dedain, Polly Persyn, Elle Liza Tayou, Maurice Leerman, Pepijn Loobuyck, Willem Loobuyck, Winne Vanacker


In flämischer Sprache mit deutscher Übertitelung




Sieben Kinder sitzen über den Raum verteilt. Sie sind zwischen 9 und 14 Jahre alt und dürfen sich ihre Rollen für das Stück aussuchen. »Theater ist, so zu tun, als ob man alt wäre, obwohl man jung ist«, sagt das eine Kind, »Theater ist wie Marionettentheater, aber mit Menschen«. Ein Theaterstück wird geprobt, in dem das Leben des belgischen Kindermörders Marc Dutroux nachgestellt wird. 2004 wurde er zu einer lebenslangen Haftstrafe verurteilt.

Das Stück »Five easy pieces« (»Fünf einfache Übungen«) beleuchtet Verbrechen, die durch die Ästhetik des Dokumentartheaters abstrahiert werden. Der stärkste und geradezu gespenstische Verfremdungseffekt besteht darin, dass Kinder Erwachsene spielen und zwischen Probensituationen und Rollenfiguren wechseln. Fragen behandeln darüber hinaus auch Ängste, Hoffnungen und Tabus allgemein. Die Nüchternheit, die Brechungen und das Spiel der Kinder sind atemberaubend.

Der Stücktitel bezieht sich auf die gleichnamigen Klavierstücke »Cinq pièces faciles« von Igor Strawinsky, die er für seine Kinder schrieb. »Five easy pieces« gehört zu den ungewöhnlichsten und meist eingeladenen Produktionen der letzten Zeit. 2017 erhielt das Stück die Auszeichnung »Inszenierung des Jahres« und wird in den nächsten zwei Jahren in 30 Ländern zu sehen sein.

Milo Rau, geboren 1977 in Bern, ist Regisseur, Theaterautor, Essayist und Wissenschaftler. Er veröffentlichte über 50 Stücke, Filme und Bücher und zählt zu den wichtigsten Regisseuren im europäischen Theaterbetrieb. Politische Themenstellungen und dokumentarische Aufarbeitungen sind sein Markenzeichen.



Uraufführung: 14.05.2016, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brüssel

Kontakt: www.campo.nu

Produktion: CAMPO & IIPM, Gent

Koproduktion: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Brüssel / Münchner Kammerspiele / La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Genf / Kaserne Basel / Gessnerallee Zürich / Singapore International Festival of Arts (SIFA) / SICK! Festival, Manchester & Brighton / Sophiensaele Berlin / Le phénix – scène nationale Valenciennes, pôle européen de création

Das Gastspiel in Leipzig erfolgt mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch die Regierung Flandern, Berlin.