26th Festival 2016


Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

26th Festival of contemporary European theatre and dance


08. Nov. – 13. Nov. 2016



euro-scene Leipzig concludes successfully

The showcase by Nikolaus Habjan from Vienna was the highlight of the 26th festival


Tonight, euro-scene Leipzig is coming to a close with the music theatre piece “Doch bin ich nirgend, ach! zu Haus“ (“But nowhere am I – alas! – at home”) by the Musicbanda Franui & Nikolaus Habjan from Austria. The figure of the wanderer is the focus of the evening. The piece was created on the basis of texts by Robert Walser and Lieder by Brahms, Mahler, Schubert and Schumann; its title was also this year’s festival motto.

euro-scene Leipzig took place from 08. – 13. November 2016 for the 26th time. This year, the festival for contemporary European theatre and dance presented 13 guest performances from 10 countries in 22 performances at 8 venues; among them were 6 German premières. The spectrum ranged from dance and spoken theatre, puppet theatre and performances for children. The festival director, Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, was responsible for selecting the programme in cooperation with the Artistic Advisory Council.

The showcase of works by Nikolaus Habjan was the highlight of this year’s festival; he is a puppet builder, puppeteer, director and actor from Vienna. This only 29-year-old artist was presented with a total of four pieces and an artist portrait. His disturbing piece “F. Zawrel – erbbiologisch und sozial minderwertig“ (“F. Zawrel – genetically and socially inferior“), based on the true fate of Friedrich Zawrel during the German occupation of Austria during the Second World War, opened the festival. Nikolaus Habjan’s excellent performance and the unusual combination with clacking-mouth puppets received standing ovations. In addition to his first piece “Schlag sie tot“ (“Beat them to death“), which was based on texts by Georg Kreisler, he absolutely enraptured the audience with the drama “Das Missverständnis“ (“The misunderstanding”), a guest performance by the Volkstheater Wien.

In the field of dance, it was the opulent choreography “I am beautiful“ by Roberto Zappalà and his Compagnia Zappalà Danza from Catania that was greeted with the most enthusiastic applause. The dance piece “Helló, Zombi!“ (“Hello, zombie!”) by Ferenc Fehér from Budapest also caused furore with its unusual style. The company forever productions from Bern demonstrated with the theatre piece “Kosovo for Dummies“ by Jeton Neziraj from Pristina that one can also deal with issues of home and migration in a humorous way.

The Schauspielhaus as well as all other five venues were as good as sold out. With an audience of approximately 6.100, the festival reached 95 % of seating capacity.

euro-scene Leipzig is financed by the City of Leipzig and the Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen as well as numerous foundations and cultural institutions.

The next euro-scene Leipzig will take place from 07. – 12. November 2017.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festival director
Leipzig, 13.11.2016



Information and contact:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Artistic Advisory Council 2016:

In 1995 an artistic advisory council was founded consisting of internationally known experts for contemporary theatre and dance. The members have advisory capacity and represent the festival internationally. Currently the council consists of the following colleagues:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Artistic Director – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rector – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden
\ Tilmann Broszat,
  Artistic Director – SPIELART Festival, Munich
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Consultant – internationale tanzmesse nrw, Dusseldorf

26. Festival 2016


Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

26. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes


08. Nov. – 13. Nov. 2016



euro-scene Leipzig erfolgreich beendet

Werkschau von Nikolaus Habjan aus Wien war Höhepunkt des 26. Festivals

Am heutigen Abend geht die euro-scene Leipzig mit dem Musiktheaterstück „Doch bin ich nirgend, ach! zu Haus“ der Musicbanda Franui & Nikolaus Habjan aus Österreich zu Ende. Im Mittelpunkt des Abends steht die Figur des Wanderers. Das Stück entstand nach Texten von Robert Walser und Liedern von Brahms, Mahler, Schubert und Schumann, sein Titel war zugleich auch das Motto des diesjährigen Festivals.

Die euro-scene Leipzig fand vom 08. – 13. November 2016 zum 26. Mal statt. In diesem Jahr präsentierte das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters und Tanzes 13 Gastspiele aus 10 Ländern in 22 Vorstellungen und 8 Spielstätten, darunter 6 Deutschlandpremieren. Das Spektrum umfasste Tanz- und Sprechtheater, Figurentheater, Performances und Stücke für Kinder. Die Programmauswahl lag, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstlerischen Beirat, in den Händen von Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff.

Höhepunkt des diesjährigen Festivals ist die Werkschau von Nikolaus Habjan, Puppenbauer, Puppenspieler, Regisseur und Schauspieler aus Wien. Der erst 29jährige Künstler wurde mit insgesamt vier Stücken und einem Künstlerportrait vorgestellt. Sein erschütterndes Stück „F. Zawrel – erbbiologisch und sozial minderwertig“ nach dem realen Schicksal von Friedrich Zawrel während der deutschen Besatzung Österreichs im 2. Weltkrieg eröffnete das Festival. Die herausragende darstellerische Leistung von Nikolaus Habjan und die ungewöhnliche Verbindung mit Klappmaulpuppen erhielten stehende Ovationen. Neben seinem Erstlingsstück „Schlag sie tot“ nach Texten von Georg Kreisler zog Nikolaus Habjan die Zuschauer vor allem mit dem Drama „Das Missverständnis“ von Albert Camus, ein Gastspiel des Volkstheater Wien, in seinen Bann.

Auf dem Gebiet des Tanzes wurde vor allem die opulente Choreografie „I am beautiful“ („Ich bin schön“) von Roberto Zappalà und seiner Compagnia Zappalà Danza aus Catania mit begeistertem Applaus bedacht. Auch das Tanzstück „Helló, Zombi!“ von Ferenc Fehér aus Budapest sorgte durch seinen ungewöhnlichen Stil für Furore. Dass man Themen wie Migration und Heimat auch humorvoll angehen kann, zeigte die Compagnie forever productions aus Bern mit dem Theaterstück „Kosovo for Dummies“ von Jeton Neziraj aus Prishtina.

Sowohl das Schauspielhaus als auch alle weiteren fünf Spielstätten waren so gut wie ausverkauft. Mit rund 6.100 Zuschauern erreichte das Festival eine Auslastung von 95 %.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen sowie zahlreiche Stiftungen und Kulturinstitutionen.

Die nächste euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 07. – 12. November 2017 statt.



Ann-Elisabeth Wolff, Festivaldirektorin
Leipzig, 13.11.2016


Infos und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig
Tel. +49-(0)341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de



Künstlerischer Beirat 2016:

Im Jahr 1995 wurde ein künstlerischer Beirat gegründet, dem international bekannte Fachleute für zeitgenössisches Theater angehören. Die Mitglieder üben beratende Funktion bei der Programmgestaltung aus und vertreten das Festival auf internationaler Ebene. Der Beirat besteht aktuell aus folgenden Kollegen:

\ Dr. Brigitte Fürle,
  Künstlerische Leiterin – Festspielhaus St. Pölten
\ Prof. Jason Beechey,
  Rektor – Palucca Hochschule für Tanz, Dresden
\ Tilmann Broszat,
  Künstlerischer Leiter – SPIELART Festival, München
\ Thomas Hahn,
  Journalist, Paris
\ Christian Watty,
  Co-Direktor – Internationale Tanzmesse, Düsseldorf