21st Festival 2011

Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

21st Festival of contemporary European Theatre


08. Nov. – 13. Nov. 2011


»Sound disturbance« on Leipzig's stages


Theatre festival euro-scene Leipzig shows guestplays from all over Europe


The euro-scene Leipzig will take place for the 21st time from 8 to 13 November 2011. The festival of contemporary European theatre will show 12 guest plays from 12 countries in 25 performances and 10 theatre venues. The spectrum includes dance and spoken theatre, musical stage forms, performances and a play for children. Among them are 6 German premières. The euro-scene Leipzig holds a firm place in the European festival landscape. The festival enjoys the patronage of Burkhard Jung, lord mayor of the city of Leipzig.

The motto of the festival this year is »Tonstörung« (»Sound disturbance«). »Music and sounds, of course, play a large role. Disturbances, however, can also be found within societal and interpersonal structures as well as in aesthetic forms», according to festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. The guest performances demonstrate strong, individual scripting of major directors and choreographers from all over Europe. After celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2010, primarily artists new to Leipzig will be presented – names which mark the European theatre and dance landscape are as much a part of this as companies which are still unknown. Of course, the tradition of welcoming selected companies back will also be continued.

The festival opening will take place in the concert hall Gewandhaus zu Leipzig this year. The high expectations associated with this famous location can only be encountered with a certain denial of superlatives. In doing so, two experimental guest performances from Eastern Europe stand for the aesthetic diversity of euro-scene Leipzig: the choreographic concert »Srh« (»Shiver«) with the composition by Milko Lazar in the choreography of Matjaž Farič from Ljubljana and the musical performance »Concerto« by Ivo Dimchev from Sofia. Another Eastern European highlight and for the first time in Germany will be the musical theatre play »Antica« by Branko Brezovec with the Naroden teatar (National Theatre) Vojdan Černodrinski from Prilep / Macedonia.

Dance is represented by Josef Nadj, Orléans, known for his three choreographies presented at the euro-scene 2008, Israel Galván, Seville, who interprets the flamenco in a ravishingly innovative way, and Palle Granhøj, Aarhus, with a humorous dance play based on the music of Gustav Mahler. As festival closure the Swiss company Alias can be seen with the choreography »Sideways rain« by Guilherme Bothelo. Spoken theatre of high quality comes to Leipzig with Wladimir Prankow, Moscow and Gisèle Vienne, Grenoble.

After five years of carte blanche – the selection of a guest performance – which was performed respectively by a member of the artistic advisory council, this »white card« is now being passed on to an artist for the next stage. The renowned French choreographer Josef Nadj, head of the Centre chorégraphique national d'Orléans, will be launching it this year this year and chose »E.I.O« by Dragana Bulut, Belgrade, Maria Baroncea & Eduard Gabia, Bucharest. This unusual performance with the audience as actors was awarded the »Prix Jardin d'Europe« in 2010 in Istanbul.

The performance group She She Pop, Berlin, will present its play »Testament« (»Last will«), which has been showered with awards. And as a magical children's piece, »Der Fischer und seine Frau« (»The fisherman and his wife«) by the Leipzig artists Berndt Stübner & Werner Stiefel can be seen. The popular competition »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« (»Best German dance solo«), in the conception by Alain Platel, Ghent, will be held for the 10th time.

The euro-scene Leipzig is financed from funds of the city of Leipzig and the Free State of Saxony. Main partner is the BMW Plant Leipzig. Partners are also the Best Western Hotel Leipzig City Center, Messedruck, Café-Restaurant Telegraph and Ring-Café. The festival is also supported by numerous embassies and cultural institutions as well as the European Union - Department Enlargement, Brussels. Cultural partner is the MDR Figaro. Media partners are ZDFkultur and info tv Leipzig.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

Leipzig, 28.09.2011



Ticket sale will start on 01.10.2011.


Information and contact:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig, Germany
tel. 0049-341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de

21. Festival 2011

Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

21. Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters


08. Nov. – 13. Nov. 2011


»Tonstörung« auf Leipziger Bühnen


Theaterfestival euro-scene Leipzig zeigt Gastspiele aus ganz Europa


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 08. – 13. November 2011 zum 21. Mal statt. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters zeigt 12 Gastspiele aus 12 Ländern in 25 Vorstellungen und 10 Spielstätten. Das Spektrum umfasst Tanz- und Sprechtheater, musikalische Bühnenformen, Performances und ein Stück für Kinder, darunter 6 Deutschlandpremieren. Die euro-scene Leipzig besitzt einen festen Platz in der europäischen Festivallandschaft. Die Schirmherrschaft für das Festival übernahm Burkhard Jung, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Leipzig.

Das Festival steht diesmal unter dem Motto »Tonstörung«. »Musik und Klänge spielen natürlich eine große Rolle. Doch Störungen finden sich auch innerhalb gesellschaftlicher und zwischenmenschlicher Strukturen sowie in ästhetischen Formen«, so Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. Die Gastspiele zeigen eigenwillige, starke Handschriften wichtiger Regisseure und Choreografen aus ganz Europa. Nach dem 20. Festivaljubiläum 2010 werden vor allem für Leipzig neue Künstler vorgestellt – Namen, die für die europäische Theater- und Tanzlandschaft prägend sind, gehören dazu ebenso wie noch unbekannte Compagnien. Dennoch wird die Linie des Wiedersehens mit vertrauten Künstlern punktuell auch weiterhin fortgesetzt.

Die Festivaleröffnung findet diesmal im Konzertsaal Gewandhaus zu Leipzig statt. Dem Erwartungsdruck an diesen berühmten Ort kann nur durch eine gewisse Verweigerung der Superlative begegnet werden. Dabei stehen zwei experimentelle Gastspiele aus Osteuropa für die ästhetische Vielfalt der euro-scene Leipzig: das choreografierte Konzert »Srh« (»Beben«) mit der Komposition von Milko Lazar in der Choreografie von Matjaž Farič aus Ljubljana und die musikalische Performance »Concerto« von Ivo Dimchev aus Sofia. Als weiterer osteuropäischer Höhepunkt kommt das Musiktheaterstück »Antica« von Branko Brezovec mit dem Naroden teatar (Nationaltheater) Vojdan Černodrinski aus Prilep / Mazedonien erstmals nach Deutschland.

Der Tanz ist vertreten durch Josef Nadj, Orléans, bekannt durch seine drei Choreografien bei der euro-scene Leipzig 2008, Israel Galván, Sevilla, der den Flamenco hinreißend innovativ interpretiert, und Palle Granhøj, Aarhus, mit einem humorvollen Tanzstück nach Musik von Gustav Mahler. Als Festivalabschluss wird die Schweizer Compagnie Alias mit der Choreografie »Sideways rain« (»Regen von der Seite«) von Guilherme Bothelo zu sehen sein. Sprechtheater kommt mit Wladimir Pankow, Moskau, und Gisèle Vienne, Grenoble, in hoher Qualität nach Leipzig.

Nachdem fünf Jahre lang die Carte blanche – die Auswahl eines Gastspiels – durch jeweils ein Mitglied des künstlerischen Festivalbeirats übernommen wurde, geht diese »Weiße Karte« in der nächsten Etappe jetzt an einen Künstler. Den Anfang macht in diesem Jahr Josef Nadj, Leiter des Centre chorégraphique national d'Orléans, der »E.I.O« von Dragana Bulut, Belgrad, Maria Baroncea & Eduard Gabia, Bukarest, wählte. Diese ungewöhnliche Performance mit den Zuschauern als Darsteller wurde mit dem »Prix Jardin d'Europe« 2010 in Istanbul ausgezeichnet.

Die Performancegruppe She She Pop, Berlin, gastiert mit »Testament«, das mit Preisen geradezu überschüttet wird. Und als zauberhaftes Kinderstück ist »Der Fischer und seine Frau« der Leipziger Künstler Berndt Stübner & Werner Stiefel zu sehen. Zum 10. Mal findet der beliebte Wettbewerb »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« nach einer Konzeption von Alain Platel, Gent, statt.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert durch die Stadt Leipzig und den Freistaat Sachsen. Hauptpartner ist das BMW Werk Leipzig. Partner sind das Best Western Hotel Leipzig City Center, Messedruck, Café-Restaurant Telegraph und Ring-Café. Das Festival findet mit Unterstützung zahlreicher Botschaften und Kulturinstitutionen sowie der Europäischen Union – Generaldirektion Erweiterung, Brüssel, statt. Kulturpartner ist MDR Figaro, Medienpartner sind ZDFkultur und info tv Leipzig.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin

Leipzig, 28.09.2011



Der Kartenverkauf beginnt am 01.10.2011.


Infos und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig,
Tel. (0341) 980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de