20th Festival 2010

Conception


euro-scene Leipzig

Festival of contemporary European Theatre

02 – 07 November 2010

Searching for traces and setting the course


Theatre festival euro-scene Leipzig sets out on a search for traces in its 20th anniversary


The euro-scene Leipzig, festival of contemporary European theatre, will take place from 02 to 07 November 2010 for the 20th time. The festival of contemporary European theatre will show 12 guest plays from 10 countries in 25 performances and 9 theatre venues. This includes dance and speech theatre as well as performances and two plays for children. The euro-scene Leipzig holds a firm place in the European festival landscape today. The anniversary festival is under the patronage of Stanislaw Tillich, Prime Minister of the Free State of Saxony.

In its anniversary year the festival is going by the motto »Spurensuche« (»Searching for traces«). »It is therefore embarking on a journey both towards a résumé of its own development since its foundation in 1991 during the adventurous post-reunification era and towards setting a course for the future«, says festival director Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. As in past years, the guest appearances will demonstrate the strong, individual scripting of major directors and choreographers from all over Europe. This will include a reunion with a number of artists with whom the euro-scene Leipzig has long enjoyed a partnership. In addition, companies that are still unknown will also be present and several German premières will be shown.

Alain Platel of Belgium and Angelin Preljocaj of France number amongst the most significant choreographers in Europe. Both have already been guests of the euro-scene Leipzig multiple times and will present full-length, gripping pieces for the festival opening and closing, respectively, this anniversary year. There will also be a reunion with the exceptional Italian director Romeo Castellucci. Also coming from Italy is Pippo Delbono, who practises strong societal criticism with opulent images in the film and opera traditions of his country.

On the occasion of the anniversary year, three plays that have been among the highlights of European theatre for the past years will finally be shown in Leipzig: »Sonja« by Alvis Hermanis from Riga, »Twee stemmen« (»Two voices«) by Johan Simons with Jeroen Willems, the best actor of the Netherlands, and »Savitrí«, an enchanting shadow theatre for children by Divadlo Líšeň from Brno. A play from Kosovo, by Bekim Lumi, will be a part of the important focus on Eastern Europe for the first time as well as a performance by Ivo Dimchev from Sofia.

Special features of the programme this year are a »Lange Nacht des Tanzes« (»Long night of dance«) showing new choreographies of former laureates of the competition »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« (»Best German dance solo«) and with it their ways of development, and the world première of »Prophezeiung 20/11« (»Prophecy 20/11«), an instinct theatre play by Philipp J. Neumann from Leipzig, who won the competition for an in-house festival production for central Germany in partnership with the Festspielhaus Hellerau/Dresden and the Thalia Theater Halle.

Two highlights within the comprehensive fringe programme deserve special mention this year: a top-class film series with dance and theatre films with the support of ARTE and a symposium in cooperation with the International Theatre Institut (ITI), Berlin, which, under the title »Ost-West-Passagen« (»East-West-Passages«), dedicates itself to the development of theatre over the last 20 years and is open to the general public.

The euro-scene Leipzig is financed from funds of the City of Leipzig and the Free State of Saxony. Main partner is the BMW Plant Leipzig. Partners are also the Sparkasse Leipzig and the hotel Holiday Inn Garden Court, Leipzig. The festival is also supported by numerous embassies and cultural institutions. Cultural partner is the MDR Figaro, media partners are ZDFtheaterkanal and info tv leipzig.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

Leipzig, 22.06.2010



The printed programme booklet will be sent on request free of charge.

Ticket sale


Information and contact:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig,
tel. 0049-341-980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de

20. Festival 2010

Konzeption


euro-scene Leipzig

Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters

02. – 07. November 2010

Spuren suchen und Weichen stellen


Theaterfestival euro-scene Leipzig begibt sich in seinem 20. Jubiläum auf Spurensuche


Die euro-scene Leipzig findet vom 02. – 07. November 2010 zum 20. Mal statt. Das Festival zeitgenössischen europäischen Theaters zeigt 12 Gastspiele aus 10 Ländern in 25 Vorstellungen und 9 Spielstätten. Dazu gehören Tanz- und Sprechtheater ebenso wie Performances und zwei Stücke für Kinder. Die euro-scene Leipzig besitzt heute einen festen Platz in der europäischen Festivallandschaft. Die Schirmherrschaft für das Jubiläumsfestival übernahm Stanislaw Tillich, Ministerpräsident des Freistaates Sachsen.

Das Festival steht in seinem Jubiläumsjahr unter dem Motto »Spurensuche«. »Damit begibt es sich auf die Reise sowohl zu einem Resumée der eigenen Entwicklung seit seiner Gründung 1991 in der abenteuerlichen Nachwendezeit als auch zur Weichenstellung für die Zukunft«, so Festivaldirektorin Ann-Elisabeth Wolff. Die Gastspiele zeigen, wie in den vergangenen Jahren, eigenwillige, starke Handschriften wichtiger Regisseure und Choreografen aus ganz Europa. Dabei wird es ein Wiedersehen mit einigen Künstlern geben, mit denen die euro-scene Leipzig seit langem eine enge Partnerschaft verbindet. Und auch bisher unbekannte Compagnien werden vorgestellt und mehrere Deutschlandpremieren zu sehen sein.

Zu den bedeutendsten Choreografen Europas gehören Alain Platel aus Belgien und Angelin Preljocaj aus Frankreich. Sie waren schon mehrfach bei der euro-scene Leipzig zu Gast und zeigen im Jubiläumsjahr als Festivaleröffnung bzw. -abschluss abendfüllende, mitreißende Stücke. Ein Wiedersehen gibt es auch mit dem italienischen Ausnahmeregisseur Romeo Castellucci. Ebenfalls aus Italien kommt Pippo Delbono, der mit opulenten Bildern in der Film- und Operntradition seines Landes starke Gesellschaftskritik übt.

Anlässlich des Jubiläumsjahrs werden drei Stücke, die zu den Highlights des europäischen Theaters der letzten Jahre gehören, endlich in Leipzig zu sehen sein: »Sonja« von Alvis Hermanis aus Riga, »Twee stemmen« (»Zwei Stimmen«) von Johan Simons mit Jeroen Willems, dem besten Schauspieler der Niederlande, und »Savitrí«, ein zauberhaftes Schattentheater für Kinder des Divadlo Líšeň aus Brno. Zu dem alljährlich wichtigen Schwerpunkt Osteuropa gehören erstmals ein Stück aus dem Kosovo von Bekim Lumi sowie eine Performance von Ivo Dimchev aus Sofia.

Besonderheiten des Programms sind diesmal eine »Lange Nacht des Tanzes«, in der neue Choreografien ehemaliger Preisträger des Wettbewerbs »Das beste deutsche Tanzsolo« und damit deren Entwicklungswege gezeigt werden, und die Uraufführung von »Prophezeiung 20/11«, ein Instinkttheater von Philipp J. Neumann aus Leipzig, der die Ausschreibung einer Festival-Eigenproduktion für Mitteldeutschland in Partnerschaft mit dem Festspielhaus Hellerau / Dresden und dem Thalia Theater Halle gewann.

Innerhalb des umfangreichen Rahmenprogramms sind besonders zwei Punkte zu erwähnen: eine hochkarätige Filmreihe mit Tanz- und Theaterfilmen mit Unterstützung durch ARTE und ein Symposium in Kooperation mit dem Internationalen Theaterinstitut (ITI), Berlin, das sich unter dem Titel »Ost-West-Passagen« der Entwicklung des Theaters in den letzten 20 Jahren widmet und für alle öffentlich ist.

Die euro-scene Leipzig wird finanziert aus Mitteln der Stadt Leipzig und des Freistaates Sachsen. Hauptpartner ist das BMW Werk Leipzig. Partner sind die Sparkasse Leipzig und das Hotel Holiday Inn Garden Court, Leipzig. Das Festival findet mit Unterstützung zahlreicher Botschaften und Kulturinstitutionen statt. Kulturpartner ist MDR Figaro, Medienpartner sind ZDFtheaterkanal und info tv leipzig.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin

Leipzig, 22.06.2010



Das gedruckte Programmheft wird auf Wunsch kostenlos zugeschickt.

Kartenverkauf


Infos und Kontakt:
euro-scene Leipzig, Gottschedstraße 16, 04109 Leipzig,
Tel. (0341) 980 02 84 / info@euro-scene.de / www.euro-scene.de