4th Festival 1994

Conception


»Vision Europa – dem Fremden eine Tür«

(»Vision Europe – an open door to the stranger«)

24 – 27 November 1994


(Preface to the printed programme – including conception of the festival)


Two bottomless pits of despair opened themselves in front of us since the past euro-scene Leipzig and threatened to pull the festival forever into their blackest depths. They were the seemingly hopeless economic situation and the death of Matthias Renner, the festival's founder and director. The two reasons were more than enough cause to nip euro-scene Leipzig's tender bud in the present frosty climate cultural demise.

That simply could never be allowed to happen! Too alluring was the vision to use the theatre as a door through which to welcome strangers and to offer us the opportunity to better understand the unfamiliar. The fantastic idea to annually welcome in Leipzig modern theatre of experimental nature from all of Europe quickly became reality. Within the shortest possible time it became an important event making waves well beyond our city's boundaries.

During the rocky road of those three years euro-scene Leipzig became a linking member in the international chain of professional avant-garde theatres. It was its only representative in Germany's new states. Thereby it placed special attention on Leipzig's importance. Besides, only the attempt to keep the festival alive would do proper justice to Matthias Renner's legacy. As such I, as his former deputy, risked the rescue operation – however knowing fully well that the general public with its great interest in our cause stood fully behind me.

With »Francis Bacon« the first production ever by Johann Kresnik, the most famous enfant terrible of the contemporary German dance scene, was invited to Leipzig. The first showing in the new German federal states of this internationally much demanded production featuring Ismael Ivo is with us. Also here for its first time will be the Catalonian company Lanònima Imperial which is one of Spain's best troupes.

The range of the festival's stylistic variation is clearly shown by the opposing natures of the fearful-dark »Francis Bacon« and Jo Fabian's humerous-virtuos »Whisky & Flags«, the perhaps most original eastern German production of recent times. Elocutional and dance theatres join here with body and music theatres just as much as they do in the extraordinarily droll Theatre Point from Hungary.

Jean-Marc Matos from Paris uses completely different techniques and his use of video installations reminds much of »Red«, last year's production by Kimmo Koskela of Helsinki. And after Philippe Saire from the French-speaking Swiss cantons made a guest appearance here, Zurich's ch tanztheater performs this year for one evening. A real discovery is »Cela« (»The Cell«), a baffling exceptional production by the Polish theatre TUBB II. Finally, as in past years, Schauspiel Leipzig and Oper Leipzig accepted the invitations to participate on the festival with a production of their own choice.

Far more involved than in previous years, a fringe programme will round out the performances. Through various discussions and a workshop will the public have the opportunity to come in closer contact with the artists and theatre specialists. Our festival club this year is the Café Intershop.

Theatre often proclaims the message that an idea can survive the death of its human parent. The fact that euro-scene Leipzig survived the death of its forever unforgettable initiator Matthias Renner is mainly due to those people who supported the festival in the present financially frugal climate. Above all and beside the officially listed institutions, I personally would like to thank the acting stage-manager and administrative director of Schauspiel Leipzig, Mr Gerhard Nodurft, without whose generous and unbureaucratic support the festival's fate would have been doomed forever. l also would like to thank my compeer Beate Fischer for her steadfastness in even the most hopeless situations.

I wish all of you many eventful hours with the fourth euro-scene Leipzig. Whether there will be an anniversary next year is still in the stars. Visions, however, are always in the far distance – yet so close to the searching touch.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festival Director

04. Festival 1994

Konzeption


»Vision Europe – dem Fremden eine Tür«

24. – 27. November 1994


(Vorwort zum Programmheft – mit der Konzeption zum Festival)


Es waren zwei Abgründe, die sich seit der vergangenen euro-scene Leipzig auftaten, diese für immer in die Tiefe zu reißen: Die aussichtslos scheinende ökonomische Situation und der Tod von Matthias Renner, dem Gründer und Direktor des Festivals. Beides hätte Anlass sein können, die euro-scene Leipzig dem derzeitigen Kultursterben zum Fraß zu überlassen.

Doch das durfte nicht sein! Zu schön war die Vision, durch Theater dem Fremden eine Tür zu öffnen und auf diese Weise auch uns Möglichkeiten zu bieten, das Fremde besser zu verstehen. Die phantastische Idee, modernes Theater experimentellen Charakters aus Europa während eines Festivals alljährlich nach Leipzig zu holen, war in die Praxis umgesetzt und innerhalb kurzer Zeit zu einem Ereignis von Rang geworden, das weit über die Grenzen unserer Stadt hinaus Wellen schlug.

Auch ist die euro-scene Leipzig in den drei Jahren, und dies war kein leichter Weg, innerhalb des internationalen Kontaktnetzes des professionellen Avantgarde-Theaters zum Kettenglied geworden, dem einzigen in den neuen Bundesländern. Der Blick richtet sich auch hier auf Leipzig. Und außerdem: Nur der Versuch, das Festival zu erhalten, konnte das Vermächtnis von Matthias Renner bewahren. So riskierte ich als seine ehemalige Stellvertreterin den Rettungsakt – immer auch das Publikum mit seinem großen Interesse an der Sache hinter mir wissend.

Mit »Francis Bacon« wurde erstmals eine Inszenierung von Johann Kresnik, dem berühmtesten enfant terrible der gegenwärtigen deutschen Tanzszene, nach Leipzig eingeladen. Diese international viel gefragte Produktion mit Ismael Ivo hat bei uns seine Premiere in den neuen Bundesländern. Hierher kommt auch zum ersten Mal die katalanische Compagnie Lanònima Imperial, eine der besten Truppen Spaniens.

Wie breit das Festivalprogramm stilistisch gefächert ist, zeigen als Gegensatz zu dem verzweiflungsvoll-düsteren »Francis Bacon« Jo Fabians humorvoll-virtuose »Whisky & Flags«, das wohl originellste Stück ostdeutscher Prägung der letzten Zeit. Hier fließen Sprech- und Tanztheater ebenso ineinander wie Körper- und Musiktheater bei dem ungewöhnlich skurrilen Theatre Point aus Ungarn.

Mit ganz anderen Mitteln arbeitet Jean-Marc Matos aus Paris, dessen Einbeziehung von Videoinstallationen an die Performance »Red« (»Rot«) des Vorjahres von Kimmo Koskela aus Helsinki erinnert. Und nach dem Gastspiel von Philippe Saire aus der französischsprachigen Schweiz zeigt in diesem Jahr das hervorragende ch tanztheater Zürich einen Abend. Einer wahren Entdeckung gleich kommt »Cela« (»Die Zelle«), eine verblüffende Ausnahme-Produktion des polnischen Theatre TUBB II. Und schließlich folgen, wie schon in den vergangenen Jahren, das Schauspiel Leipzig und die Oper Leipzig der Einladung, mit einer Inszenierung eigener Wahl am Festival teilzunehmen.

Neben den Vorstellungen wird es, in umfangreicherem Maß als bisher, ein Zusatzprogramm geben. Durch verschiedene Gespräche und einen Workshop erhält das Publikum Gelegenheit, mit Künstlern und Fachleuten enger ins Gespräch zu kommen. Unser Festivalclub ist in diesem Jahr das Café Intershop.

Oft verkündet Theater die Botschaft, eine Idee könne auch den Tod eines Menschen überleben. Dass die euro-scene Leipzig ihren unvergessen bleibenden Initiator Matthias Renner überlebt hat, ist vor allem denen zu verdanken, die das Festival in dieser ökonomisch schwierigen Zeit ermöglicht haben. Und da sei, neben den genannten Institutionen, ganz persönlich Herrn Gerhard Notdurft, dem amtierenden Intendanten und Verwaltungsleiter des Schauspiel Leipzig, gedankt, ohne dessen großzügige und unbürokratische Unterstützung das Ende des Festivals besiegelt gewesen wäre. Und ich danke meiner Kollegin Beate Fischer für ihr Durchhaltevermögen selbst in den hoffnungslosesten Situationen.

Ich wünsche Ihnen allen erlebnisreiche Stunden bei der 4. euro-scene Leipzig. Ob für das nächste Jahr dann ein Jubiläum angekündigt werden kann, ist noch unsicher. Doch Visionen liegen meist in weiter Ferne – so nah.


Ann-Elisabeth Wolff
Festivaldirektorin